We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I enjoyed our stay at this La Quinta compared to the one on the seawall. It's quiter and the rooms are much more comfortable. They have plenty of parking (garage) space. Although, this La Quinta is located in the quiter end of the seawall, it's perfect to wind down. Especially, if you've been out all day. So quite and easy access coming and going.
Con: The pool is very small.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azambrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 701 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the second time staying at this hotel for several days each time. We stayed her in 2012 & July 2013. I rate this hotel as a good 2 1/2 star hotel. They allow pets up to a certain size which was a plus for me. The rooms are large, the bed pretty comfy, but the cost for staying over the 4th of July week was a bit much. Really, $200 for the holiday and $135-$145 for the other nights (with an AARP discount no less) - really? I paid it because it was convenient to the rest of my family. This is a pleasant hotel, but these are luxury prices in Texas. I wanted a bit more for what I paid. On the other hand, the staff were above average, the room cleanliness was a sure 3 star. Bring your own toilet paper. It was awful. So was breakfast. Cold eggs to heat up, pre-frozen bagels, off brand fruit loop cereal. Would rather no breakfast than this...but I had hopes every morning! Coffee is the only thing that was excellent...stay away from the stuff in the room. I would stay here again for a night or 2 in the future, but not the long stay I did this year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TXRosie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Glad to note that you stayed with the La Quinta recently and thanks for the review.

We appreciate the review as you have put it pretty specifically.

It is nice to hear that you liked the beds, hospitality of our staff, cleanliness and of course the coffee. We shall look into the quality of the toilet paper.

At the same time we have took prompt steps to improve the breakfast.

Your observations shall really help us to improve our standards.

Hoping to see you soon,

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
12
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was so noisey from Room 110, poor house-cleaning - one bed made, one bed NOT made; not safe from the parking garage; old building - smoke alarm was detacted, wires hanging; did get the rooms we booked with the balcony view....so disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranchhousemotel, Webmaster at Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West and staying with us during your recent visit.
We appreciate your review and take your observations quite seriously to improve our guest services.

We have taken adequate steps to check and ensure that the overall amenities and cleanliness of the rooms are perfect before checking in a guest and the concerned staffs have been given the required training

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay with us. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

ocean view is a balcony perpendicular to the ocean.The beach across the street consisted of huge granite boulders and you could NOT go in the water there, we had to drive a minimum of 2 miles to get to a sandy beach.
Our second day there ..the room didn't get cleaned until 5 pm and they forgot to give us towels ,washcloth, soap and shampoo !.the bathtub still had sand in it.next time we will stay elswhere

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We are from Houston & frequently visit Galveston for a night or two, and this was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in on the island. Very disappointing! We used our reward points for the 1st night & planned on staying a 2nd night, but we checked out early, because there was no way we would pay $189 + tax for that room & the bad experience. We came in the 1st day after spending the day at the beach, so all we wanted was a hot bath. Not only was there hair all over the bathroom, we had no towels, no soap & no shampoo. When I called the front desk, I was told housekeeping was gone & we'd have to come get it at the front desk. The rooms are old & shabby, as is the entire hotel. The so-called ocean view balcony was a joke. 1 chair shoved all the way over & facing sideways can have a partial view of the sea. The hotel faces sideways, so they should not advertise most balconies as ocean view. We had Holiday Inn view. The breakfast was so crowded, and there was nowhere to sit. We didn't feel like fighting 40 people was the waffle machine, so we just grabbed a cold muffin & coffee & sat outside by the pool. When I went back to the front desk for more towels, I was told they didn't have any, so they would bring some to our room. Well, they never did. We were unable to use the tiny swimming pool, because it was overrun by 30 children at all times. The beach in front of the hotel is useless-it's just rocks. You have to drive to a beach. We decided to check out & go home instead of paying for the 2nd night. The front desk employee didn't seem surprised & offered nothing for our inconvenience. This hotel has no business charging the same & at times more than much nicer hotels nearby. Do yourself a favor & book the San Luis, the Hilton, or the Galvez instead.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pookeysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranchhousemotel, Webmaster at Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate all forms of guests’ feedback.

Staff has received extra training as to their responsibility to ensure that all guest are handled in the best possible manner and also to maintain an enduring hospitality.

We have taken steps to check and ensure that the overall cleanliness and amenities in the rooms are perfect and the concerned staffs have been given the required training.

Again I am sorry we were not able to deliver a great experience to you, we will be utilizing your feedback to help us improve!

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My "room with a view"-(which cost significantly more than a regular room)-was NOT the ocean view I expected. The hallway hadn't been vacuumed, a bag of trash remained overnight, greeting visitors at the S-L-O-W elevator, and a bottle of shampoo provided for guests had been previously opened. This particular hotel this particular night wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranchhousemotel, Webmaster at Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West for your stay during your visit to our area.

We definitely appreciate your review and observations. In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve.

We have noted all you observations and concerns and have taken corrective measures to attend to each of the observations. We have also taken steps to see that all the amenities are in clean and comfortable for our guests.

We are sure that the next time you visit our area, You will be greatly pleased and will choose us for your stay. We take our guest reviews quite seriously.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were at La Quinta for two nights and I just hated the place. The garbage cans were all full as was the dumpster, overflowing actually. garbage on the lawn and a lot of dirty laundry in the hall way. Mostly on my floor. I didn't like the food tasted so fake. We stayed at many LQ before but this was the worst. The elevator had a hole in the floor that you could twist your ankle in and many other issues like the shower leaked water all over from the shower head. Very disappointing. Also the other LQ in Galveston is worse I heard from other vacationers that changed hotels. Stay away. The place is in need of much repair also. The staff is not friendly and stand offish. Asked if they had coupons the girl said no, there were a bunch by the door. what the heck. My husband said his back was starting to hurt after the second night. Now the views were not bad but balconies were dirty also. I wish I could say something good other than the view on the one side. It was a disappointment.

Room Tip: check the halls and the room first before signing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranchhousemotel, Webmaster at Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously- for improvement.

At the outset, our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever unlikely it may be.

The entire issue of cleanliness, hygiene and all other related problems in the room and the property has been investigated.

The Staff has been effectively trained to be responsible and caring towards all guests

We assure you and request you to consider staying with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#25 of 51 in Galveston
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel

Address: 8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly La Copa Inn Galveston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $68 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galveston, Texas is a small, romantic island tucked deep in the heart of south Texas, offering 32 miles of beautiful beaches, exciting entertainment and quality restaurants and shopping, and the new Best Western® Galveston West Beach Hotel on Galveston's Seawall Boulevard gives you easy access to it all at a price that won't break the budget. Business travelers appreciate our convenient location and quality amenities keep them productive. Businesses and universities near the hotel include Galveston College, Texas A&M at Galveston, University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the U.S. Coast Guard. We have a 24-hour business center. Whether you're enjoying a refreshing vacation or embarking from the Port of Galveston, our hotel offers a great stay at a great price. Our prime location allows you to relax and watch the ocean wave’s crash, and we are close to numerous attractions the whole family can enjoy, including Schlitterbahn® Waterpark, Stewart Beach, Galveston Island Ferry and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Galveston
Galveston La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing