We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“there to catch cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Copa Inn Galveston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Copa Inn Galveston
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
A TripAdvisor Member
“there to catch cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Room was roomy we were 3 adults 4 teen agers and a toddler. the house keeping staff were friendly and made sure we had what we needed. check in and out was quick and friendly.Laudry area was clean and well lite

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    134
    132
    108
    124
See reviews for
277
162
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Colorado
Level Contributor
211 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This place so dirty and grungy! The staff is rude! The location to the cruise ship dock it not good!! My wife fetal like she was dirty and wanted to wash her hands the entire time!! I think the sheets did not get changed either as hair was all over! We will most deffenitaly not be back to a la Quinta hotel after this which was our first stay at one. TIP: Stay buy pleasure pier or the strand district. The Strand district is next to the cruise dock and has lots of shopping and great places to eat! It's a very nice down town area! We wish we stayed there instead! Do not stay at the south end of seawall Blvd because its just a bad location!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with the La Quinta and taking time to review.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the stay

In any case we have adequate steps to improve the rooms and décor seriously and have a special check on all the amenities.

Please choose us once again during your next visit and see the difference.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsicana, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place is a mess. I had a headache from the moment I stepped in till I left,from the fumes of the glue used in this construction procedure. I was traveling with a lady using a cane and feared she might trip over the mess that was everywhere. I contacted the manager and received an email invite to come stay again. Not on your life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the La Quinta for your recent stay and the review.

We definitely appreciate every kind of criticism and suggestions about our hotel.

In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve.

We have addressed to the point mentioned in the review.

The hotel staff has received retraining in the proper way to treat the guests and rendering the finest hospitality.

We are confident that you will find an all new experience with us and would choose us for the next stay while you visit our area.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My family and I were there Sat. and Sun. Jan.12-13. Construction debris everywhere. Trash piled up in trash cans with cockroaches crawling out of them. Told the person in charge and they didn't seem to care. Lied to us about shuttle service cost-I asked two separate times when I called to verify our stay if it was complimentary and was told it was. The pool and hot tub were not working-same thing as before. I asked if it was working when I scheduled the stay. The hallways were dirty and stunk like urine. The staff at the front desk were not attentive at all or even cared about our concerns.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed in La Quinta Inns many times and this is the first time I would say Never Again! The employees were rude and of no help at all when asked specific questions. The shuttle to our ship was chaotic and a total nightmare on the return. I was hung up on when I called and asked exactly where we were supposed to stand to be picked up, after waiting for a very long time in the freezing rain. The driver was very rude. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
4 Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at La Quinta Inn during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and observations during your stay.

We take them seriously as it will contribute towards improving our guest experiences.

Upon receipt of your review, the entire hotel staffs have given specific training to offer the guests the best hospitality.

The next time you visit our area, please choose to stay at our hotel again and experience a nice stay and an enduring hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

As others stated, this hotel was full of construction dirt and trip hazards and the entire hotel reflected the apathy of the staff. Few of the hotel's "amenities" were working -- elevators, drink machines, fitness equipment. All public areas were a mess and the front desk staff stood by chatting with one another. Who manages this place? Find another place to stay!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pac2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the La Quinta to stay during your last visit to our area.

Our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever.

We have taken your review seriously and trained the front office staff to be very courteous and supportive to the guests.

Please consider visiting us once again and have a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We arrived for a 5 day get away. With no warning we walked in on a major remodeling in the hotel on January 6, 2013. We tried to stay but had to move to the other La Quinta at the east end of the island, following a night of hell. We were put in the only room on the first floor not under renovation and had to walk down the hall avoiding construction people and their tools. We demanded our money back and got it. Front desk gal was nasty upon checkin. Manager was the only person you could deal with and he was off sick. A suggestion to the franchise owner of this hotel is to shut down during this extensive remodel, get it done and reopen when done. We were very unhappy with the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the La Quinta.

We appreciate your review and your experience.

Please note that we are taking adequate steps to complete the remodeling soon and shall open to offer our guests a nice stay and hospitality.

We take your reviews quite seriously.

Please choose us once again and experience a fully satisfactory stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#22 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#26 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#23 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Galveston

Property: La Copa Inn Galveston
Address: 8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Copa Inn Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Copa Inn and Suites Galveston is an attractive oceanfront hotel located just 3-miles West of downtown Galveston near several prominent attractions including, beaches, cruise ports, Bishop Palace, Moody Gardens, and Seawolf Park. Each well-equipped room features free high-speed Internet access, a microwave, and refrigerator. This hotel also offers a complimentary continental breakfast with hot items, fitness center, a Seasonal outdoor swimming pool, and heated whirlpool. NO PETS ALLOWED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, LaQuinta and Hotwire so you can book your La Copa Inn Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Galveston
Galveston La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing