We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveler rating
170
175
156
120
160
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
175
156
120
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streethot breakfastsea wallbeds were comfortableview of the oceanpierportstrand
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 781 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here twice, both very good experiences. We have a labrador dog and this is pet friendly. Newer building/recently built (last 5 years?), in a great location at western end of seawall/Seawall Blvd., away from the busy and crowded east beach areas. Good value. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jckc0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were skeptical about this hotel after reading some of the earlier reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised. This hotel is nicely appointed, friendly staff, bountiful breakfast for being continental, great view of the gulf, very clean and nice bed linens. Everything in the rooms has been recently updated including the furniture, fixtures and decor. The carpet had a few spots on it in our room. Checkin and checkout was quick and efficient. The last night we stayed the power went out when we turned on the micro wave. When we called the front desk, they had us moved to an new room within minutes. The new room was an upgrade from what we had been staying in all week. Very accomodating.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room on the west side that will give you a view of the gulf. The east side faces another hotel. The seawall access does not take you to a sandy beach. The sandy beach is just a short drive or walk down the road. Excellant view of the gulf from the front and west side of the hotel. Jimmy's restaurant is within walking distance and has great food and a view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Relaxin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our 2nd time to stay here - the first time was several years ago when it was fairly new. It is a smoke free hotel - however our room then smelled like a cigarette factory! My husband has asthma so we had to have another room. They only had one room - didn't offer to help us move or reduce our bill at all. We decided to give them another try this year. Checked in around 3 PM - while unpacking we needed more light in the room - there were only 3 lamps in the room, one had a burned out bulb. Tried calling the front desk to request a new bulb - only got a busy signal. My husband finally went down there. They told him the maintenance man had already left and took the only keys to the supply cabinet with him! So then they said they would get a bulb from another room and bring it up to us. Three hours later still no bulb - tried calling again - once again only a busy signal! So I went down - this time they told me that someone had gone to buy some - why didn't they do that 3 hours earlier!? Finally at about 8 PM we had a new light bulb! The next morning we left our room at 10 AM - saw the cleaning carts a couple of rooms away from ours - got back at 3 PM - the carts were at the other end of the hall, so figured our room had been cleaned - WRONG! I tried to call the front desk - of course, busy signal again! Went out and found the maid in a room about 3 down from ours - asked when ours was going to be cleaned - she acted very surprised! So it was cleaned - about 3:30 in the afternoon! When we went to check out the next morning there was no one at the front desk - my husband and another man waited for about 5 minutes - then they both just left our keys on the desk! This hotel needs a new manager and crew! We aren't going to give them a 3rd chance - will find a different hotel next time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanWharton_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We also appreciate your review and observations which shall really help us to improve further.

Additional measures have been taken to ensure the best cleanliness and proper amenities in the rooms. All rooms are being thoroughly checked before a new guest is checked in.

We also have taken all the steps especially the front office staff to ensure that our guests get the best services and hospitality during their stay.

We invite you again to choose our hotel again and feel the new experience of hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Room was very clean, beds very comfortable, great location, friendly staff! Easy in and out of driveway. Lots of parking. Great price and will definitely choose this location on our next trip to Galveston.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherrylbercaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews