We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected Quality”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We chose this hotel for a one night stay in Galveston due to it's high Trip Advisor rating and reasonable price at the last minute. Our rate for a Thursday night was $139 for a queen double with microwave/fridge and balcony with side gulf view. Comparable 2-3 star hotels within two blocks were almost double this. This is a Choice Hotels property and in the past I had not been very happy with visits to some of the lesser quality properties of this brand. The whole time I was reserving this #2 rated hotel I kept thinking, "what's the catch?" I assure you, there is none. We arrived around 1:30 pm and I approached the front desk merely to ask what time check in was and to see if we could just come in and use the restroom to change and go to the beach while waiting. I was pleasantly surprised to hear the response that the room was already ready and we were welcome to check in right then. We were even more pleased to find out we were on the third floor, which my son really wanted, so that the gulf view would be better. Tommy at the front desk was very personable and knowledgeable and gave us a great first impression on behalf of the staff.

I had heard that this property had recently been renovated and I could see that no expense was spared on the updates. Bright teal & lime green accented the new brown carpeting and light blue walls making the lobby cheerful and inviting. The area housed comfy couches with pillows, eating tables and chairs.

We arrived at the room also to realize that this was a freshly renovated room with new tv, a/c unit, and beds. New gray tiled was placed in the entryway and bathroom. While the room wasn't overly big, there was plenty of space to move around as needed and the addition of a small closet was appreciated. Not a speck of dirt or dust anywhere.

Breakfast the next morning was of good quality and I really liked how the waffle irons were set up away from the other breakfast items as they tend to cause traffic jams. Food was plentiful and included eggs and sausage patties, pastries, yogurt, bread items and fresh fruit.

After our first night we were contemplating staying another night, but I knew the rate went up drastically for the weekend. I went down and spoke with the front desk again to see if anything could be worked out for an extended stay. After a quick discussion I was offered a new rate that I was very satisfied with and the decision to stay with them a second night was easy to make.

There is an indoor pool with hot tub. Although I didn't use those facilities my family did and all claimed that it was a nice area. There is also a fitness area while small, housed a weight machine which was an extra since most comparable hotels throw a treadmill in a tiny, airless room and call it a fitness center. My boys used the equipment both nights. The business center was one computer w/large screen and printer, but I really liked the fact that it was in a room with a door that could be closed and conveniently located next to the lobby.

Another plus is the parking. Parking is underneath the hotel which protects vehicles from weather and also deters from theft. We never had a problem finding a space. The location of the hotel is also very convenient to attractions and more or less in the middle of Seawall Blvd. There is a Jimmie Johns and a Yogurt shop directly in front of the hotel for a quick snack.

Very pleasant experience with unexpected quality in the details. Highly recommend giving this place a try if you visit Galveston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor near the front of the hotel for the best view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
I can't tell you enough how much I appreciate you taking the time to write a novel about your stay, I sure hope it ends up on the bestseller list :) My staff and I hope that all of our guests have a similar experience at our hotel.

Thank you again for taking time out of your day to share your experience with other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    91
    47
    18
    20
See reviews for
148
102
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel after visiting Schlitterbahn for the day. Hotel Location is great and it looks like the Hotel has recently been renovated. Checkin was fast and easy. The room was nice and clean. We booked in advance and got a great rate for this hotel. Parking under the hotel was great. Only problems we encountered was a maint person trying to get in our room while we where in it, this happened a couple of times. We also had house keeping knocking on our door around 9:15am and all she said was checking out? Never had this happen in all my business travels and thought it was weird. Overall It was a great location and great Hotel to stay in..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for the early disturbance by our housekeeping team. This is an opportunity for coaching our staff to improve our guests’ experience. Due to the early arrival of our guests in a leisure destination (many at 8am or earlier, though check-in is at 3pm), our housekeepers are under more pressure to get rooms ready early in the day than you would normally see. This of course has caused some bad habits among the housekeeping staff in Galveston. Our property is under new management and we are working to change these habits and improve our guests’ experience. We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy a restful and undisturbed stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel over a weekend and were surprised at how clean it was. The rooms were spacious, nicely appointed and comfortable. Appears that they must have recently done some renovations. A plus is the covered parking available for free underneath the hotel. Also location of the hotel is close to prime attractions on Galveston Island. PS. the staff was friendly and courteous too. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: First floor is convenient to the underground parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zorobawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
You are our guest! We certainly want you to feel like it when you stay with us. Go ahead….ask us for anything .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Excellent Hotel for the price. Very clean room, very courteous staff, excellent complimentary breakfast. Rooms are very comfy and good size even for family. had free Wifi. Would strongly recommend anyone to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Book in advance and get a room which faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Great advice! Thank you for your review. You can often find advance purchase rates available through the ChoiceHotels.com website and other online travel sites. These rates will be the best available, but may come with some restrictions (such as paid in advance and non-cancellable). Your chances of getting the room / floor / view of your choice will increase with advance booking and special requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel was clean, breakfast was good. My only complaint is the WIFI did not work very well in our room. Half the time we could not get connected. The location of the hotel was perfect, it was within 10 minutes of everything we had planned. We didn't have time to take the kids to the pool but it looked clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on our WIFI system. It is because our past guest responses that we recently upgraded all of our internet equipment and increased the speed of our network to 150/50 (for you techies). Some of our guests have recently had an issue with the network dropping the connection…after several calls to our provider we believe this problem to be resolved. In an effort to provide the best possible service and amenities to our guests, we must do better than provide adequate internet service; we must provide the best available service.
Our guests needs have changed greatly over the last few years from a single laptop with a wired connection surfing headlines to 4 or 5 smartphones per room streaming video. All hotels including ours must upgrade equipment and services to stay ahead of the demand. We will continue to enhance our services to remain ahead of the curve. We hope you come back to enjoy our hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We enjoyed our four day stay very much. Matt, the gentleman at reservations, helped us make reservations and also to extend our stay when one of the children became sick. The rooms were clean, quiet, cool and comfortable. Our third floor rooms had good views of the ocean from our balconies. The hot breakfasts were delicious. We will stay here any time we are in Galveston.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear positive feedback on our hot breakfast. This program is fairly new to our property and we have been working hard to make it fast, efficient and appealing to our guests. Thanks to feedback on our guest surveys we have made changes to the configuration and item selection to make breakfast a better experience on our busy weekends. We will continue to add more variety to our breakfast for your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a great view and the rooms were very clean. It is right there at the beach. There were lots of restaurants near by. The manager and all the staff were very pleasant. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure to eat the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelangs2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#23 of 51 in Galveston
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Address: 6302 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2029 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Galveston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Galveston
Comfort Inn Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing