We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thomas Family Vacation”

Pirates! Legends of the Gulf Coast
Ranked #28 of 68 Tours in Galveston
Attraction details
San Tan Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thomas Family Vacation”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took a trip into Galveston Today. We just moved to Texas in Jan so we are pretty new to the area. We did some shopping on the Strand and came across the Pirates Museum. The kids loved the decorations and the artifacts and enjoyed the scavenger hunt. We learned a lot about the Pirates of Galveston Island and even got an awesome cut out of Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) in a dedicated room to Hollywood! We had a good time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    11
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The kids loved the scavenger hunt”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place was okay, the recreation of the ship was very nice. Don't expect it to kill much time though, we were in and out in less than a half hour! The scavenger hunt was fantastic!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kbellatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diboll, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Pirate Museum is located on the strand. It is attached to the Haunted Mayfield Manor. The fee is not bad. The exhibit is good. When you walk in you are on the deck of a ship. There is a cabin set up with a window that makes you feel like you are on a ship. It isn't a large museum but it was worth the cost. Make sure you check it out.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lifewithaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little kids LOVED it. Moms thought it was overpriced, and lack of a restroom = fail”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Yes the kids loved it. The pirate on deck was absolutely wonderful with our crew of 5-8 year olds. Very hands on. They got to walk around and touch everything. Older kids enjoyed the treasure map hunt. Moms were disappointed in the price, but what really struck this place down, was the lack of restrooms!! There are NONE. Not acceptable with a group paying over $80 to then be sent across the street to a cookie store (which requires a purchase before you can use the facilities, rightfully so) to use the restroom.

Helpful?
1 Thank JeepKidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very disappointed in Pirates! Took my 7, 9, and 11 year old through it. Almost everything in the exhibit is a replica. They had only one employee dressed as a pirate in the entire exhibit. He acted as if he did not want to be there. No interaction with kids. Not friendly at all. Pretty much everything required reading or was a picture on the wall. My kids whined and cried to leave through the entire exhibit. I read just as much about the pirates online. Scavenger hunt was to advanced for 2 out of my 3 children. I had to complete it for them. The prize was 2 plastic coins. The exhibit is really small and not worth the money. Waste of time and money in my opinion. Oh, and did I mention they don't have a public restroom?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirates! Legends of the Gulf Coast also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Pirates! Legends of the Gulf Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing