We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach . . . for Galveston”
Review of Stewart Beach

Stewart Beach
Ranked #24 of 101 things to do in Galveston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Families are the focus at this popular, amenities-rich beach park, where volleyball, sandcastle competitions, concerts and other family-oriented activities are the norm all summer long.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Beach . . . for Galveston”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stewart Beach has good facilities, is very convenient to I-45 (entrance is right where the road I-45 turns into meets the ocean) and is fairly priced. Parking was $8 and two beach chairs with a large umbrella was $30 for the day. The umbrella provided plenty of shade for our family of 4. The beach was clean and there was no seaweed and no smell of any kind as other Galveston beach-goers have complained about. There were lots of life guards around, showers and restrooms in walking distance, and a snack bar. Basically everything you need for a full day at the beach for $38 and all within 500 yards. The only thing is . . . it's a Galveston beach so expect brown sand and brown water.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingnewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    97
    64
    15
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice beach, but very crowded!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I would definitely bring chairs, food and water! Beach is nicer here than if you drive further down the road where it's covered in Red Sea weed and smells fishy! It was crowded and my kids did not find one shell, but they had a good time. The water is very shallow for awhile which is good for kids who want to go further out. I would go here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyalsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasakwa, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Looong beach and plenty of room for everybody! If you want to rent a beach umbrella, better get there early. $25 for the umbrella and $30 for umbrella and 2 chairs until 5pm. Well worth it. Pretty clean, play area for the kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great family beach!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our first visit to the beach in Galveston. It is a clean, family beach. There were lots of other families and kids there and everyone was enjoying the day! We brought a cooler of drinks and snacks to enjoy, but there is also a McDonalds within walking distance.

Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denton, TX
Level Contributor
207 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Clean and Well Maintained Beach”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed our day at Stewart Beach. The family played while I sat and read. I ended up renting an umbrella and chairs to go with our chairs we brought. It rained off and on so the umbrella helped a lot. Especially since I had developed a cold while on vacation.

It really was a relaxing day and even though there were a lot of people around it was not too crowded or noisy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank diannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewart Beach also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Stewart Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing