We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all we've got”
Review of Stewart Beach

Stewart Beach
Ranked #23 of 101 things to do in Galveston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Families are the focus at this popular, amenities-rich beach park, where volleyball, sandcastle competitions, concerts and other family-oriented activities are the norm all summer long.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It's all we've got”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Ocean beachgoers are invariably disappointed, but this is what we've got. Safe, easy & fun. Makes for a cheap and enjoyable family day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kqhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    100
    67
    16
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean beach”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Area was clutter free of tents due to the beach rules. Clean from debris. Was not fond of the $8.00 per vehicle parking charge and if left for lunch had to repay.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Family Friendly”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Stewart Beach, avoided as a teen, is now a nice place when you have kiddos. Shower pavilion could be expanded, but there are showers outside so you can rinse the kids off before putting them in the car. I would like to see more lifeguards.

Helpful?
Thank hollysmom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice family bach”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nice, clean beach with good shower and restroom facilities. A bit crowded most of the time, but not so bad that you can't find a spot to claim. A good beach for playing in the water but if you want to look for shells and/or walk along the surf I would recommend driving out to West Beach. It is much less crowded and you will find lots more shells. We found quite a variety with some of them occupied - hermit crabs, sea snails, tiny clams, etc. We put those back of course after looking at them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Family Day”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We enjoyed our day at Stewart Beach. It was $8 to park and $30 for two chairs and an umbrella rental. Both were worth the money. Be sure to bring cash or be prepared to walk across the street to use the ATM at IBC. Afterwards we used the shower house which had a little wait in line on the women's side. The chairs/umbrellas are picked up promptly at 5:30pm.

Helpful?
1 Thank Racinmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewart Beach also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Stewart Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing