We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much to say” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Beach

East Beach
Ranked #25 of 100 things to do in Galveston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The biggest in the Lone Star state, this popular beach features outdoor concerts, special events and other activities for people of all ages. And unlike most public beaches, East Beach allows the consumption of alcohol.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not much to say”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I can't really say much due to the fact I went for a very short time on the day I was heading back home. The beach was being maintained pretty well, considering how bad the seaweed was during my trip there. I did get stung by little baby jellyfish, that were so small they looked like large grains of sand!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 720Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    50
    28
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Beach, Smell of Ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I like the beach with the good smell of ocean. You can enjoy beach activities with the view of many freighters. It is very beautiful for us living in a inland city. And it is very convenient for parking and food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudevila84a19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Finding Fun Despite the Seaweed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Searched up and down the island for a clean beach. Found it best at east beach. Seaweed was well managed. Kids enjoyed shells, crabs, shrimp, fish, coming in from the seaweed tide. Even saw a few curious fins near the shallow waters. White, clean sand despite the seaweed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Layne3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Party Beach where alcohol is allowed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This beach is for partying although some families go there as well. Small concession stand and ports potties available. No tailgating any more. No showers. Personally, my family prefers the West side of the island like Galveston State Park (with showers, potties, and picnic area).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seyemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Beach, But if you're afraid of plant life look elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a nice time with my family on East Beach. This was a very large beach with plenty of access regardless of crowd size. The facilities were nice and the people working were friendly. We did not purchase anything to eat or drink so I cannot comment on pricing.

The only issue we had was the seaweed. If you've read ANY reviews you know this to be true of all of the beaches in Galveston. Clearly they had cleaned the beach at some point in the recent past as there were HUGE mounds of seaweed. Still, you had to walk over a 3 foot wide seaweed barrier to get to the water and you were guaranteed to get accosted by floating seaweed once you made your way into the gulf.

If you are afraid of plant life, don't go here. If you have an open mind and just want to get away and play in the sun and surf, East Beach is not a bad place to go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The_JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Beach also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing