We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, large rooms, great value and location, but bring good earplugs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Waterpark
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here for three nights last week. Price was excellent for the location and amenities. As expected in proximity to Schlitterbahn and Moody Gardens, this is very much a family motel, with kids everywhere. Not a romantic hotel in any aspect. We were placed in the " new building," which was a less than one year old building with three floors and really convenient covered parking underneath. This was particularly welcome in protecting our cars and contents from the sun and heat of the Texas coast. Our room had a wonderful "tank top" view, surveying a huge water tank next door. The other side overlooks the local airport, which seems heavily used by helicopters (e.g., desirable for families with young boys). Limited access to the entire building required use of room keycards, which is reassuring. The rooms were oversized compared with most motel chains, completely clean, with small fridges, microwaves, coffee makers, and a small table with chairs for dining in. Staff were incredibly friendly, helpful, and a delightful change from typical motel staff. Continental breakfast was more than adequate, all you can eat, with yogurt, several dry cereal choices, bagels with cream cheese, fresh fruit, sweet rolls (very avoidable), choice of whole, skim and lowfat milk, choice of orange, apple, cranberry apple juices, coffee, tea. Really nice miniature golf course in front of hotel is free of charge and unlimited to guests. Did not go to the pool, being as how we went to Galveston for the beach?

Very convenient to west Galveston Island locations, including the state park. Walking distance (one block) from Schiltterbahn, and a two minute drive or <1 mile walk from Moody Gardens. Location was actually closer to Schlitterbahn than many of its own parking spaces. Drive <1 mile the other direction on 81st Street and you are at Seawall boulevard, away from the crowded beaches closer into town. Recommend going to the west end of the seawall a few blocks west of 81st Street, where there is a huge parikng lot, barely any cars, and access to a natural beachline that is not affected by the seawall. Not terribly convenient if you are interested in the downtown historic district.

The downside of all this was that the builder of the "new building" apparently completely forgot about soundproofing between floors. Although we could barely hear anything next door, we could hear individual drops from the shower upstairs as they hit the floor. For the last two nights, we were convinced we had the Ringling Brothers circus upstairs, with what sounded like a dozen young teenage boys chasing each other around for two hours between 10:00 pm and midnight. Their conversations were easily heard, though not quite clear enough to make out what they were saying. A white noise generator and really good foam earplugs were able to block most of the racket, but the vibrating walls were difficult to ignore. We called the manager the first night, which led to no appreciable improvement until they suddenly seemed to all fall asleep at the same time. We decided we should blame whoever was supposedly parenting or chaperoning this mob as much as the builder of the building.

Had we not had the elephant races upstairs, we would have had essentially no complaints. Highly recommend this hotel, which deserved all 5's had it not been for the sound proofing. Bring a white noise maker, good foam earplugs and/or your sedative of choice, and hope you have more considerate upstairs neighbors, and you will have a great time.

From what the front desk staff told us at checkout, the old, original building is far better soundproofed. Not sure how nice they were otherwise, however, and their parking area was outside in the open, like a typical motel. You choose which is more important.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentralTXFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

Thank you for your review, We appriciate you taking the time to tell us your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 488 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

Only spent one night..wanted a little mini vacation for the weekend and found all the other local hotels very expensive. Rooms were large enough and beds were comfortable. The free put-put was a pleasant suprise.. a lot of fun. Staff were all very nice. Great value compared to other hotels that weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I just wanna say thanks again to the staff at the Inn at the Waterpark, got there a little early but did not hesatate to get us in a room before the check in time. As always great room with a very pleasant staff. I also just wanna say thank you to Mrs Riley, it has been you and the staff there that keeps us comming back each year.

The guys from Dallas

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneekn4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We would definitely stay here again. We didn't come to sit in the room and gaze out the window at the Gulf which would have been nice of course but quite costly. We could have walked to Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn but we wanted to save our feet and had a 5 year old. Schlitterbahn was closed anyway. Some of the parking is under the hotel (still above ground) and open on all sides. There are 3 floors. We had two connecting rooms which were spotless and large. Flatscreen TV, small fridge, microwave, one cup coffee maker, hair dryer, 2 tables with 3 chairs, an easy chair, divided bathroom with a sink in each one. You can potty, shower, use the sink in one with a locked door. The connecting one just has the sink with the hair dryer and a closet area to hang your clothes and an iron and ironing board. They serve a continental breakfast and have free minature golf. There is a pool and pool house that serves food but was closed at this time of the year. Actually when we checked in, there was only one other car here. Spooky. The next night there was several more. The weather had been bad on Monday and it was still damp and cool. It was our spring break but not Galveston's. Moody Garden's was not crowded. The prices may go up when warm weather arrives but it was very reasonable at $89 a night. I would suggest bringing paper towels, a few paper plates, a larger coffee maker if you want a lot in your room. Maybe even a few forks and spoons if you plan on eating in your room . We would definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DazyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I found Inn at the Waterpark via Priceline while looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Galveston during Labor Day weekend. We were pleasantly surprised by this little gem located about a mile from the beach.

The front desk staff were helpful and accommodating. Our room was spacious, with a microwave and mini-fridge and spotless to boot. The hotel had free miniature golf and a nice pool, in addition to free breakfast. I would be pleased to stay here again.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WillaRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

It seems there are mixed reviews concerning this hotel. I gather that it is the luck of the draw what kind of room you get.
Luckily, we got one of the good ones. Our room was clean and spacious.The room is divided into two sections, a small eating area with a table and chairs, frig, and microwave along with built in shelves for storage. The other section is the sleeping and bathroom area. The double bed seemed smaller than the norm and it the mattress was not firm enough for my liking.
Despite the hotel being booked with families with younger children, it was quiet enough. The room was insulated from all the noise and we were even able to sleep in the next day.
An added perk was the free miniature golf course located on the property.
The location is good. Schlitterbahn is across the street, the beach and plenty of restaurants are located a short drive away,
I would recommend this hotel, especially to families with children.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bizstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

They require a $50 deposit at the time you book the room. The way we were told, you get the deposit back when you check out without damage to the room. What they do NOT tell you is it can take up to 15 days (possibly longer) to get this deposit back. If you use your bank card, possibly longer. Make sure to keep this in your mind before booking a room!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yngmom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#39 of 51 in Galveston
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.9 mi away
Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel
4 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Waterpark

Address: 2525 Jones Dr, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9270 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: $71 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Waterpark 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GALVESTON ISLAND ESCAPE FULL OF FAMILY FUN.The ideal choice for hotels near Schlitterbahn - Galveston.Could there be a better Galveston Texas hotel for family fun? Because it is located right next to Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Adjacent to Moody Gardens, the Inn at the Waterpark is among the best hotels in Galveston Texas for families.The Inn at the Waterpark is one of the more casual, carefree, laid-back and relaxing Gslveston Island hotels with a Family Friendly rates. Economy goes hand-in-hand with our Galveston hotel's comfort and convenience. You will find our front desk offers tickets for Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark.The fact that the Inn at the Waterpark is near Schlitterbahn Galveston and so near Moody Gardens is just the start. Other nearby attractions will keep the family busy for a week of vacation, or a weekend getaway. There's the fabulous Moody Gardens Golf Course, billed as the premier public course in Texas. You'll love the Lone Star Flight Museum right across from Schlitterbahn Waterpark, not to mention the 32 miles of sandy beaches of Galveston Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Waterpark Hotel Galveston
Hotel At The Waterpark
Waterpark Galveston
Waterpark Hotel
At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn Waterpark Galveston Tx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing