We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We've been looking for a good economy motel in Galveston, this is not it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at the Waterpark
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Canyon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We've been looking for a good economy motel in Galveston, this is not it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The outside of this motel is nice looking with a miniature golf course out front. The lobby is nice and is decorated with a tropical theme. But I was very disapointed with our room. This place needs upkeep and a deep cleaning. The furniture is left from the 80's and has been used hard. A paint job would help a lot since there are dark marks on the walls and doors. The shower curtain was all wrinkled and had dark spots on it. The fiberglass tub had been repainted but the paint is now chipping. The dust was about 1/4" think on the exhaust fan. There was a light bulb out over the sink. The carpet had stains. One of the lampshades was all dented. The beds squeak. The outside stairs were damaged and made me wonder about their stability. The parking out front is limited and we had to hunt for a spot. On the good side, it was a suite type room with a small table and chairs, microwave, refrigerator and a one cup coffee maker. They have flat screen TV's. We were in the front building so I don't know if the back building is better or not. Breakfast was about average. As far as I'm concered, this is a $50 room. Unfortunatly, I didn't know better and payed more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chintz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    130
    102
    57
    41
See reviews for
251
61
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toody703
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a great stay at a great price. The rooms are nice, big and clean. We suggest you ask for a room in the new addition, there is parking below the addition and elevators with keyed entry. There is free breakfast with pancakes. They are within walking distance of Moody Gardens and another attraction, but is a few blocks off of Seawall Blvd (that's how you are able to save). There is also a mini golf course on the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new addition, there is parking below the addition and elevators with keyed ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toody703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I would stay here again in the off season. Rooms are clean but you can tell that some of them are older like chips and peeling in bath tub. This is not on beach but several blocks away but is convenient to seawalll blvd. Great location if you are going to water park and moody gardens.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaciesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel was just ok. I would only go back if I got a good deal on my rates. It was pretty clean and the staff was generally friendly. The location is a little off the beach, but only a five minute drive.

There is complimentary breakfast, not the best that I've had.

The room I stayed in was very large and spacious. There was only a walk in shower with a curtain, which made showering a little awkward. It was small, and hard not to get water all over the bathroom.

Overall, if you can get a good deal and you're just looking for a clean decent place to stay then I would recommend this hotel. Otherwise, you might not be happy here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grace l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, OK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We made reservations at this hotel online, to stay a night before our cruise for a very reasonable price because we booked it w/non-refundable. We ended up coming down a day early, and they gave us the another night for the same price - so kudos to them for that great service. The hotel is just a few blocks from the Seawall, so its in a good location. There is also the waterpark next door.
We had a room on the backside, second floor. The room was clean, the bed was comfy. It wasn't a Hilton, but we didn't expect such. We had a kingsize bed, a separate sitting area w/a desk and refrigerator. The bathroom was roomy with plenty of shelf space for our bathroom stuff.
The ONLY problem we had, and it wasn't the fault of the hotel, was the mosquitos were unbelievable when you walked outside! There is drainage canals on the front & backside of the hotel, and I guess this is where they were coming from. As soon as we parked to unload our suitcases we were literally covered with them! We dashed to our room and tried to get in w/o letting the pesky little buggers in with us. We ended up having to go buy some bug spray at WalMart just to get in & out of our room. There is a free putt-putt course on the grounds that guests can use, but we heard people that had tried to play, and were having the same problem w/mosquitos there too - its in front of the hotel. It may have just been the time of year, and this isn't an ongoing problem. Its certainly not the hotel's fault.
The breakfast in the mornings is Continental style, held in the front lobby. They had fruit, breads, bagels, waffles you could make yourself, yogurt, milk, coffee & juices. We aren't big breakfast eaters, so this was more than sufficient for our taste.
The second night we were to stay, we left our room early that morning, and returned about 5 to take showers before we went out to eat. We were disappointed our room wasn't cleaned by that time. The maid was just getting to our room when we drove up. We had to wait in the lobby about 30 minutes. That was our only problem with service, and we didn't complain to anyone.
For a quick stay, clean rooms at a good price, this hotel was just what we wanted before our cruise. We would go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okiegal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The check in process went smoothly but it went downhill from there. We were given a room in the back of the main building on the first floor. The entryway outside our door needed a good sweeping, a lot of dead bugs and trash near the walls. When we entered our room I was shocked at the number and size of the stains in the carpet, very dirty. There were many things in the room that required maintenance - I can understand if they missed one problem in a room, but I don't know how they could have overlooked so many. The floor lamp did not work, the toilet did not flush properly, the cold water faucet for the sink was very loose, the bathtub was dirty, one of the shower knobs did not work, the ceiling light fixtures were littered with bugs and we found a number of huge roaches/water bugs crawling around. In the morning we went for breakfast but it was very crowded. On the flip side the room was spacious, the bathroom countertops were newer, the room had what appeared to be a fresher coat of paint and the beds were comfortable. If more attention was paid to cleaning and maintaining the room I would have given the hotel a better rating. I was expecting a 2-1/2 star hotel but it seemed more like a 1 star.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant MO
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Inn at the Waterpark for one night and happy it was for only one night. Our room was on the 2nd floor with no elevator, room was old and shabby. Free breakfast the next morning was a joke. There was room for about 20 people in the breakfast area and the hotel must have been completely booked as the breakfast area was packed. We went to a restaurant and paid for our breakfast. The hotel staff was completely disinterested - either about our room being on the 2nd floor and no elevator or that the breakfast area was inadequate. They just stared at us with a "you have me confused with someone who cares" attitude.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#23 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#22 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Waterpark

Property: Inn at the Waterpark
Address: 2525 Jones Dr, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9270 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Waterpark 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GALVESTON ISLAND ESCAPE FULL OF FAMILY FUN.The ideal choice for hotels near Schlitterbahn - Galveston.Could there be a better Galveston Texas hotel for family fun? Because it is located right next to Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Adjacent to Moody Gardens, the Inn at the Waterpark is among the best hotels in Galveston Texas for families.The Inn at the Waterpark is one of the more casual, carefree, laid-back and relaxing Gslveston Island hotels with a Family Friendly rates. Economy goes hand-in-hand with our Galveston hotel's comfort and convenience. You will find our front desk offers tickets for Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark.The fact that the Inn at the Waterpark is near Schlitterbahn Galveston and so near Moody Gardens is just the start. Other nearby attractions will keep the family busy for a week of vacation, or a weekend getaway. There's the fabulous Moody Gardens Golf Course, billed as the premier public course in Texas. You'll love the Lone Star Flight Museum right across from Schlitterbahn Waterpark, not to mention the 32 miles of sandy beaches of Galveston Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at the Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Waterpark Hotel Galveston
Hotel At The Waterpark
Waterpark Galveston
Waterpark Hotel
At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn Waterpark Galveston Tx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing