We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to see Galveston and learn its history”

Segway Tours by SegCity
Ranked #4 of 66 Tours in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An incredible SEGWAY TOUR journey will take you to an unique and inspiring part of Galveston's story.Once home to more millionaires than New York City it is now one of the largest examples of 19th century Victorian living in the nation. Cruise along the sea-wall, visit the incredible tree carvings from the lost oaks of hurrican Ike, journey through the magnificent mansions of the past or enjoy the evening breeze as the sun sets.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great way to see Galveston and learn its history”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We took a group of 19 on a tour with SegCity. Highly recommend this tour! They take time to show each person how to ride, time to practice outside before heading into the streets. In April, the streets of Galveston were dead, so we had very little traffic to contend with and could stay together as a group. Dee and Katie were great guides. Dee really knows her Galveston history. This is one of only two tours that can take you though the Historical area. We also rode along the seawall. Great tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CSFMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    15
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great attraction, really fun!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our family did the 2-1/2 hour tour and went all over Galveston. I loved the historical facts and my husband and teenagers loved the Segways. They are really fun and easy to ride. You get great instructions then practice in an alley for a few minutes to become comfortable. Our tour had nine people and that was a lot if you wanted to hear the tour guide. They use a microphone but in our large group it is difficult to hear in the back. We had a couple of stops for 5 minute breaks and a couple of photo opportunities. The tour was totally worth it. Everyone had a blast. I highly recommend this for families looking for something fun and a little different to do.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Segway Love”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

What a fun way to see Galveston! Our tour guide Dee first made sure we could operate the Segway (if I can do it, anybody can), then off we went on the "Rat Pack" tour. This was an interesting tour that took us around different parts of the island and provided history of the area’s organized crime. Although we have been to Galveston countless times, we learned a lot and never became bored. Dee was EXCELLENT - funny, knowledgeable, and very personable. Being Valentines Day, it was beautiful 60 degree (F) sunny weather and hardly any traffic (Friday lunch time). Highly recommend for a romantic daytrip from Houston.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GottaRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So fun!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time! It was our first time on a Segway, and it was easy to learn. We took a 2 hour tour that basically took us all over the island. We saw many of the wood carvings, the sea wall, parks, and even the most haunted house on the island. Our tour guide was great; very friendly and full of information and stories.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Part of Trip!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My family and I loved our Segway tour! We had never been on something like it and didn't know what to expect. The information presented on the tour was very interesting. The tour guide made you feel safe and comfortable. And once I got the hang of it, riding a Segway was really phone! I cool activity to do!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway Tours by SegCity also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Segway Tours by SegCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing