We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit!”

Galveston Naval Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$520.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Galveston Island and Houston...
Ranked #14 of 58 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Galveston Naval Museum (formerly the American Undersea Warfare Center) at Seawolf Park is home to historic WWII Navy vessels, the USS Cavalla submarine and USS Stewart Destroyer Escort. Experience the battle as you take a self-guided tour (with available audio) aboard each ship. Learn how our young American sailors lived and fought on the high seas. Surround yourself with scenic views of the Port of Galveston and the surrounding waterways. See wild dolphins dancing and ferries crossing in the waters just off of the island. At the tip of the island, Seawolf Park offers the best fishing in the area, complete with a paid public fishing pier and a live bait camp! Enjoy picnic tables and playgrounds, basketball and volleyball courts, which make up the rest of the park where our 2 warships sit, guarding the entrance to the Galveston Ship Channel. Bring a picnic lunch and relax in the park after touring Galveston Island’s premier, open-air WWII Naval Museum.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

We had so much fun with our kids exploring the ships they have here. There are two ships and plenty to look at. It does get a little hot when you go in the ships, so I recommend doing this first thing in the morning when they open. There is a lot of climbing or going up and downstairs. Afterward we sat on the park bench to cook off and drink water. I recommend going here if you are visiting Galveston!

2  Thank CCJT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley C, General Manager at Galveston Naval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Kolpcar, thank you for joining us at the American Undersea Warfare Center at Seawolf park. While we do have air conditioning in the submarine, the feeling on board both vessels in all kinds of weather give an even more authentic awareness of what those heroic men dealt with in the 1940s South Pacific and North Atlantic!
We hope to see you again real soon!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"destroyer escort"
in 55 reviews
"seawolf park"
in 74 reviews
"uss cavalla"
in 36 reviews
"subs"
in 15 reviews
"tight quarters"
in 11 reviews
"battle ship"
in 5 reviews
"aircraft carrier"
in 6 reviews
"wwii history"
in 6 reviews
"sea wolf park"
in 13 reviews
"park area"
in 5 reviews
"pelican island"
in 14 reviews
"these ships"
in 5 reviews
"air conditioned"
in 21 reviews
"fishing pier"
in 20 reviews
"bait shop"
in 5 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 27 reviews
"great park"
in 9 reviews
Filter

86 - 90 of 527 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2017

We toured the USS Texas (highly recommend) earlier in the week so this was a nice addition to our trip! It is amazing to see the technology they had back then and to cram it all in such a small area. It was very cool to be able to go inside of these ships and see how they lived/worked. After checking out the boats head out to the fishing pier and see if they are having any luck. You can also see the remains of the SS Selma. A concrete ship from 1919 that is partially sunk just off shore. Highly recommend!

1  Thank Capt_America_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley C, General Manager at Galveston Naval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

CAP, it was just MARVEL-ous that you visited--thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

We went on this tour on the Fourth of July. It was a very fitting thing to do on this day. We learned so much about the submarine and the battleship. I highly recommend this tour especially to history buffs.

Thank Vacbysally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley C, General Manager at Galveston Naval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you for visiting and your recommendation. Yes the 4th of July is a very special time to consider all who sacrificed for our great nation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

We only paid to be in the park and $6 for our car was very reasonable.

The fishermen were all very nice and sweet towards our children who intently watched them cast their lines in.

The playground was new and very nice! It was usable for children from infants to elementary aged. They could use a few more than 2 swing though.

The only bathrooms were portapotties but they were 'clean' and stocked.

Overall it was a great experience and worth the drive out.

Thank Kerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley C, General Manager at Galveston Naval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Kerri S., thank you for visiting Seawolf Park and your kind words. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

Sea Wolf Park is such a hidden gem of Galveston. Money well spent. At $10 a head it is well worth it. All proceeds go toward continued preservation efforts. The kids didn't want to go but ended up loving it because it's so hands on. Great WWII history. I love that they are preserving this submarine and ship. And now the kids can better relate to Captain America.

Thank dnggtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley C, General Manager at Galveston Naval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thanks for visiting the American Undersea Warfare Center at Seawolf park. We especially love those parents who bring their kids for the added educational value of the hands-on, ring the bell, turn the knob experience. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Naval Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Naval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing