We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful architecture and historical treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bishop's Palace

Bishop's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.00*
and up
Galveston Warship and Submarine Tour
Ranked #2 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Bishop's Palace (a.k.a. Gresham House) is a contributing building in the East End Historic District, a National Historic Landmark. The house is listed in the National Register of Historic Places at the national level of significance in the area of architecture. Architectural historians list the Bishop's Palace (Gresham House) as one of the most significant of Victorian residences in the country.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,251 reviews
584 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture and historical treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This home was owned by a wealthy family named the Greshams prior to the Bishop living here. They spared no expense designing and decorating this stunning home. The tour is self-guided with an audio guide, and it is very well done. From the moment you walk in, the woodwork, stained-glass windows, marble, sculpture, etc, all impress. It's $10.00 well spent. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    281
    54
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was a self guided tour and was a little confusing in which direction to go but was a beautiful place to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, dull tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Maybe it was the heat and humidity, maybe we were just tired from walking around in the heat. I don't know. We had hoped to buy a combination ticket to see it and Ashton Villa but we couldn't seem to coordinate the times and the people selling the tickets could care less. After walking a mile between the two we opted to see the Bishop's Palace. It was quite grand, but all I could think was it looked just like the Dallas County Courthouse. The tour guide didn't want to answer questions about whether it was haunted or not, he just said "Come back in October." Worth a visit if you have the time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goldie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful building worth touring!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I only recommend this tour for children 10 and older. This is a beautiful building worth touring. A self guided tour will take you through this beautiful mansion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The knowledge and enthusiasm of the guide makes or breaks a tour. I cannot rave enough about the in depth knowledge and genuine excitement of the tour guide when my daughter and I visited the Bishop's Palace on August 13. She gave a wonderful tour of a fabulous old house, and we learned a lot about the history of Galveston. I would highly recommend a visit and tour. Forget the audio tour and go for the real live person.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jaejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop's Palace also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Bishop's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing