We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating history and architecture”
Review of Bishop's Palace

Bishop's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.00*
and up
Galveston Warship and Submarine Tour
Ranked #2 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Bishop's Palace (a.k.a. Gresham House) is a contributing building in the East End Historic District, a National Historic Landmark. The house is listed in the National Register of Historic Places at the national level of significance in the area of architecture. Architectural historians list the Bishop's Palace (Gresham House) as one of the most significant of Victorian residences in the country.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fascinating history and architecture”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed touring Bishop Palace. Fascinating architecture. We were disappointed to find out after paying for the self tour that you cannot access the third floor. So if you want to see the entire home, take the guided tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    286
    54
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Magnificent Home”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Buy the Broadway Beautiful combo ticket for both the Bishop's Palace and the Moody Mansion for the best value. Our tour guide was very knowable. The Catholic Church is selling it and I hope the Historical Society is able to raise the money to purchase the mansion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dstadigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very cool house”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

First of all, get the combo package for this and Moody Mansion. It's worth it and saves money. Give plenty of time for both. It was interesting to find out this house was purchased by the Catholic Church for a bishop, hence the name. The tour is only for two floors but they offer an extended tour that is the entire house, last three hours, and is only on certain days and there is a waiting list so check in advance. The house itself is very cool to see. Parking is limited to the street.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rdp343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful house”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had no docent on the day we visited and I'm not a big fan of the recorded wand, but the house is beautiful and speaks for itself. I just think that a good tour guide can really bring an old house back to life.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Lake Ranch,TX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Great Look at the Past!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have visited the Bishop's Palace on two occasions ans enjoyed it immensely each time. The architectural designs and innovations are amazing! .But the most amazing aspect of the home is the sheer elegance and beauty! Guides take you in small groups at a relaxed pace and are very informative and friendly even in the extreme cold of our first visit. Second visit was more enjoyable due to favorable warm weather. A must visit in Galveston!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Butch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop's Palace also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Bishop's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing