We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent coffee for an island with few opportunities”
Review of The Tremont Cafe

The Tremont Cafe
Ranked #81 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“decent coffee for an island with few opportunities”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

decent coffee for an island with few opportunities and the prices were decent. Seating area was also well kept.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank born4travelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Marys, GA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Ate at the Tremont Café while awaiting departure for our cruise (delayed due to fog). The food and service was very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank grpGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome coffee!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Their breakfast was phenomenal!! We loved everything about the food and the coffee!! :-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasTeacher75979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“WOW! Great dining at a hotel restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ate here in 2012 and was unimpressed, typical hotel cafe that had a limited menu that was okay at best. We prefer to eat at local restaurants that are not chains because we love variety.
Hotel restaurants are not where we go for a quality meal. Management responded to my tripadvisor review from last year promising changes. WOW! Changes for the better. The Tremont Cafe has figured out how to provide excellent food at a reasonable price. Best pizza I have ever eaten, their flatbread pizza with truffle oil is to die for. We almost never eat twice at the same place but we kept coming back and ended up eating four meals there. Will eat there again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dagmara56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST KEPT SECRET IN TOWN”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

If you didn't know better you'd blink and miss this opportunity located in the Tremont Hotel. The food at this establishment is absolutely outstanding! If you're looking for a nice place to go that's generally not crowded dine here.. Because it's located in this well appointed hotel you can dress up or feel just as comfortalbe a little more casual. You walk in and order your food. However, they do bring it to you and get you anything else you might need once your seated. Additionally,they have T.V.'s at the table for extra enjoyment. All of the food selections are wonderful ranging from lasagna, to Salmon, to a chicken barbecue brick oven pizza. The prices won't break the bank either, and were very reasonalbe for the type and quality of food.The cafe is located just adjacent to the hotel lobby so quite often they have somebody playing the piano..That makes it rather nice around the holidays. The Tremont Cafe is now one of my favorite places to go on the island, and for sure one of the best kept secrets in town!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Namtul68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tremont Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The Tremont Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing