We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Galveston
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Fort Worth Texas
1 review
“Never again!!!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2007

This hotel is not what it said it was on the internet or even some of the reviews here. It was definately not a place I would ever stay again. It is smelly and I wouldnt say it is filthy but it isnt clean b y a long shot. The sheets and such were clean and smelled clean also but there is mold on the widows they are smeared and dirty and also cracked. The tub wasnt as clean as I would want it for my special needs child to take a bath in. The staff were less than friendly and just the over all outside of the hotel is dirty and smelly. If I had been planning to be here more than 1 nite I wouldnt have stayed. We are going on a cruise and decided it would suffice for a place to sleep the nite before. Just dont stay here spend a little more money and stay at one of the other chain hotels that look much nicer than this.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — it was dirty
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank terriann50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    62
    149
    131
    215
See reviews for
293
117
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Room was not cleaned fully, vacumed once, never swepted, visting the beach, lots of sand! House keeping did not leave new bath towels on second morning, had to obtain from front desk on our own. No clock in the room, non working TV remoute. Starway areas dirty. Breakfast , what a scarry thought, serving area dirty, very little to choose from, no clean tables in breakfast/lobby to seat at. I was so grossed out I would not even make a plate to take back to the room. The pool area was not even appealing enough for my 12 year to swim. I wanted to check out as soon as we checked in.

Plus during our check in our room rate would have been cheaper to book on our own, priceline charge was about $50.00 dollars more.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank Missedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Our confirmation said we could check in at 3pm but was told could not check in till 4pm - by an unpleasant lady. The key cards did not work had to get them reset twice. After returning from a day out at the beach (3:30ish) our room had not been cleaned. Our bathroom light would not stay on we had to shower without light all 5 nights. One day the hotel door would not lock - had to get the front desk to call maintenance (which did fix the lock). The hotel was not very clean. The hotel is not worth the price.

  • Disliked — uncleaniness, no working light in the bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Extremely overpriced. Overall appearance was dirty, even the lobby doors were smeared and dirty. Check-in time on my reservation confirmation said 3:00 but when we got there to check in we were told 4:00. I was given a room but I don't think they had completely finished cleaning it. The carpet was dirty. My grandchildren's feet were 'black' from walking on the carpet. The bathroom floor appeared dirty and had pieces of paper on it when we checked in. The shower was terrible. No tub. About the only positive was the proximity to the beach and restaurants without actually being on the seawall. The pool was ok but there were cigarette butts and beer cans lying aroung. Do not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Liked — proximity to beach
  • Disliked — it was dirty and old looking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StickTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

There was mold on the wall in the bathroom. All doors in the room were filthy, especially on the inside. Even the doors to the lobby were disgusting. The hot tub did not work at all. The room rate was way too much for all of this.

  • Liked — The fridge and microwave in the room and the belgian waffles in the lobby
  • Disliked — The dirty doors, the room smell and cigarette hole in the blanket.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

Stayed here one night (March '07). The front desk staff was friendly (perhaps they've made some changes since the last few reviews?!). After I checked in, I went back to the desk and asked for the wifi password for my laptop--it worked right away with no problems. Later I asked for an iron and ironing board (again, no problem). Finally, my brother was joining me later that evening but I was getting tired and didn't want to wait up. I went back a third time to ask the desk clerk to give my brother an extra key when he arrived (again, the clerk was friendly and accommodating).

The room was fine--clean and quiet. There's a free continental breakfast. And the beach is just around the corner. All-in-all for the price (I wouldn't pay more than $50/night), it was fine.

  • Liked — inexpensive
  • Disliked — not on the beach
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Beatrice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Thankful for the prior review that warned me about the staff. I was prepared. One young woman who works late shift whose name starts with M - was very pleasant. One of the maids was also friendly. Other than that, they are so cold and unfriendly, they are abusive.

I stayed twice - before and after cruise. Both rooms very large, fairly clean as motels go. Pool closed until April even though it was warm enough to use. It was great to have free internet access in Lobby without having to drag along my laptop. Refrigerator, microwave good to have as well as access to washer and dryer.

Spoke to other guests who also said they stay in Galveston a great deal, but won't come back to Econo Lodge JUST because of the rude staff. Wake up, Managers!!! You need to hire some people with personalities. I probably won't go back either, for same reason. It is just too uncomfortable being around such hostile people.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#39 of 51 in Galveston
40 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
0.2 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#37 of 51 in Galveston
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galveston

Property: Travelodge Galveston
Address: 3924 Avenue U, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8555 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets allowed for a fee charged per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galveston Hotel Galveston
Econo Lodge Galveston
Galveston Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing