We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff so Cold, you'll want a Jacket....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Galveston
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Staff so Cold, you'll want a Jacket....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2006

Stayed overnight Sunday 11/5 following a cruise. Staff could hardly be bothered with any guest assistance. Despite only about a dozen guests staying Sunday, no check ins were available until after 4 PM (and you were clearly ordered to be checked out by 11 AM the following day, or else....).

Clerk said wi-fi wasn't working "due to remodeling". Tried anyway, it clearly was. Had great difficulty getting clerk to give me user name/password (she twice gave "close but incorrect versions" until I carried my laptop to the office and insisted she verify my typing--THEN she said "oh, password is XXXX naming it correctly for the first time!)

Motel is generally nicer than the average Econo-Lodge. Breakfast was OK, parking was free as advertised; but the rude and abrupt treatment from clerks means we won't be back.

PS: we're in the resort/hospitality business, and understand frustration following a busy weekend, but these girls were over the edge!

  • Liked — Free cruise parking
  • Disliked — Cold staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank 79601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    142
    122
    193
See reviews for
264
110
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

Got this hotel for $42 a nite on orbitz. Was worth the price. Would not want to pay more than average price as is an average hotel. Room was clean and cold. Had fridge,microwave,iron and board, plenty of linens. Did have 2 ants around sink no major deal you could have ants at home. It did have minor cosmetic defects that is to be expected from hotels this close to ocean with people in and out so often. Did enjoy that it is so close to beach. Only complaint is that front desk lady was not real welcoming on arrival(afternoon). She acted like it was a bother to have to help me. The morning lady was nice the next day though. Would stay here again just for location if nothing else.

  • Liked — close to beach
  • Disliked — front desk people
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cancungirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2006

The Econo Lodge is in a pretty good location, has a nice pool, a washer and dryer ($1.25/wash or dry; detergent $1.00/box), LARGE rooms with a table & two chairs, mini-refrigerator and microwave, stairs AND elevator, pretty nice breakfast bar (Texas-shaped waffles), and a guest computer with Internet access in the lobby. Pool towels available at the front desk. A/C noisy, but working. It's not fancy, but you get a lot for your money.

We stayed there with our Girl Scout troop after getting hit with unexpected extra charges at the Howard Johnson Express Inn that put it over our budget. HoJo manager insisted on charging us $5/girl per night over and above the confirmed reservation amount (which included the girls as guests). I am lodging complaints about that wherever I can.

Econo Lodge took us in, gave us two great rooms right next to each other, and turned out to be a great location and bargain. Lots of families staying at the same time, along with some older travelers. We checked in the day Houston was hit with record rainfall and had flooding and it rained the next day, too, but that didn't dampen our spirits and we had a wonderful time on the island. I would prefer better quality beds and pillows, but kids don't care.

Thanks, Enono Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2006

We knew that cheapo places attract hooligans, but we needed somewhere at the last minute. So we were treated to 3AM shenanigans of running up and down stairs, yelling, laughing and screaming. And this was not during spring break.
The place is also deteriorating quickly, despite being "only" three years old. It hasn't been swept, the paved surfaces are liberally stained with bird crap, coffee, soda. Cigarette butts abound.
The room carpet by the door had been extensively chewed away by a dog (or drunk spring-breaker), the bathroom door had been almost torn off it's hinges, but at least the room did not stink, and there were no fresh bullet holes.
Unless it's an emergency, or you're a hooligan looking for a place to freely raise hell, don't stay here.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank pikeman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2005

We just got back from our stay last week. I shopped on Galveston.com for a deal and chose this motel from the others, using price range and amenities to pick. We got a good price of $74 the first night and $49 the other 2 nights. It had a fridge and a microwave and that's about where the good stuff ends. When we checked in there were 2 people up front and a line of folks checking in, but only 1 of the people was working while the other guy stood around. They were each less than helpful with questions, and then argued with me about the rate of the room -- luckily I brought the printout of the reservation with me to prove the rate I was supposed to get. The place is only 3 or so years old but the decor is already falling apart and the rooms/bathrooms are showing mold. Probably a Gulf problem, but still nothing you like to see. They advertised "free internet access" but we found out it was only in the front desk area and only from their public use computer. The continental breakfast was OK --2 kinds of cereal, some inexpensive pastries, and a waffle maker, milk, OJ and coffee. Luckily we love waffles, but we missed having fresh fruit. There were also no alarm clocks in any of the rooms (we had family in 2 other rooms so we checked) -- why? and our phone didn't work right the whole time we were there although we kept reporting it. The elevator was broken and although the pool was OK it is smallish and the hot tub was on the fritz.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mad_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2005

This hotel is NASTY!! I stayed here one night before I left for my cruise out of Galveston. I thought I would opt to save a couple of bucks and stay here because of decent reviews. When I went to check in the woman at the front desk was busy on the phone with her friend and seemed annoyed when she noticed me walk in. She didn’t even put the phone down while checking me in (so I got to here about her social life). Once she got my key ready, it was off to the room, or “Hell” as I like to call it. The room smelt like mold, the bathroom was dirty, my air conditioner wouldn’t work, and my sheets had stains and even some left over hair from the previous guest. When I called down to the woman at the front desk to inform her of the problem with my air conditioner she said she had to reset it and then it would work. So I left for dinner thinking my room would be cold when I returned and maybe some of the musty smell would be gone. Well I guess she got caught up on the phone with her buddy because my air was still not working when I got back. When I called to remind her about the problem she didn’t even bother apologizing for forgetting to turn it on! TRUST ME, the money you save staying here is not worth it!!! I left the next morning and went down to the Hilton and was happy to pay the extra money to get good service and a clean room. P.S. The Hilton was great, GO THERE!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2004

We stayed here and enjoyed it. When we arrived, the room hadn't been cleaned, so they moved us to an upgrade at the same price. The room had everything we needed for our two-night stay. Didn't see any bugs. Would stay there again.

Helpful?
4 Thank RGR1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galveston
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#35 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
1.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
0.1 mi away
Gaido's Seaside Inn
Gaido's Seaside Inn
#23 of 53 in Galveston Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galveston

Property: Travelodge Galveston
Address: 3924 Avenue U, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8555 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets allowed for a fee charged per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galveston Hotel Galveston
Econo Lodge Galveston
Galveston Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing