We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bugs, leaky ac and no flushable toliet.. OH MY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Galveston
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Nevada, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bugs, leaky ac and no flushable toliet.. OH MY”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We reserved a room with 2 king size beds. We unpacked and noticed our ac was leaking, toliet wouldnt flush and the room was over run with roaches!! I went to front desk and was just stared at. He almost seemed confused by what the problem was?? Didn't immedialy have a solution. After informing staff that we wouldnt be staying in a room with BUGS we were offered a smaller room :( so what other option did we have. At 11pm we were repacking and moving rooms. NO APPOLOGY at ANY time was given. Not even at check out?? Also the staff was still trying to charge us for the king beds at check out even though we didn't stay in the roast infested room with non flushable toliet and leaking ac... We've stayed 2 other times at this hotel and after the lack of customer service we wont be back. :(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    143
    122
    202
See reviews for
270
113
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Me and my sister took our families to the beach and waterpark for vaca and the location was GREAT!! But the service sucked we stayed 2 nights and I had never been scared to fall asleep tell then, there were roaches and other bugs that were crawling around they never changed our sheets either because my son dropped some juice on the sheet and when we returned from a long day @ the beach and waterpark I pulled the spread back and there it was a red stain. On my way out the door to go check out I saw a dead roach that looked like it had been there for months

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prejean79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchard, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

we were in need of a roof, bed, and shower. this place accomidated just that. wasnt looking for a glitz & glamour, we were on 'VACATION'. We were protected from the elements (mosquitos), washd off the beach, slept til the next morning. What more do u want while on' VACATION'. price was right, didnt see any bugs, shower had water, soap, towels... had a fridge, microwave, air conditioner was cold, didnt check out the pool, we had the OCEAN to swim. wld stay ther again. Thank you Pete, for serving us at 1am.

Room Tip: elvauate WHY u need a room,,, protection from elements,wash,sleep, is why we needed a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_H_1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I was very nervous about staying here based on the reviews I read but our 3 night stay was not bad at all. Our room was fairly clean. The floor could have been cleaned better but I always where sandals at hotels anyway. I had clean sheets, clean towels and a cold ac when I arrived. The only bug I saw in my room was the fly I let enter. The property seems old and could use one work but overall it wasn't a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmendoza823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I went to this hotel, because it was the only thing available for the dates we were planning to go, we had a reservation for 2 nights but at the end we only stayed one, thank god because the room was not clean, we found five (5) cockroaches in our room, We could not even sleep at night thinking that we were going to find a cockroaches in our face, plus it was very noisy we could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms. The TV was not flat scream which is something that every hotel should has by this point. The outside of the hotel like the parking lots and the corridors were very dirty and with a bad odor. it has a decent pool it could be better as well. The only good thing was the roll inn shower handicap room for me that I have a handicap, sometimes this types of rooms are difficult to find. Please Do not stay at this hotel for more more than one night, I prefer to stay at something better even if I had to pay a little more. Please do something good to yourself and do not, do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor is too noisy and unsafe in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSWALDO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Staff and managment were very rude. The room was roach and cricket infested, Bathroom had mold around the door frame and up shower wall. Pool was cloudly and dirty. When we used the shower it flooded the whole room due to water leaking from a cracked tub, getting some of our baggage wet. Manager did not even appoligize. Smiply said "well things like this happen all the time" WTH!! They down graded us and expected us to pay same price for the room after a long argument the finally disconted $34 off the room price and told us we had to pack and move to another room the next morning because that one was already booked. I had made my reservations 2 weeks in advance. Needless to say I paid the $24 cancellation fee... yes they charged me to cancel my reservations. We moved down the road to the Comfort Inn and it was great. This place might be tempting to keep a few bucks in your pocket but not worth it.

Room Tip: Comfort Inn on the Sea Wall .... Great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel was filthy and the owner/manager was rude and lazy! Mold was growing in the shower, there was sand on the floor, and breakfast was very minimal (waffles,muffins, cereal)...although, there were so many people and so little food, we weren't able to get much! First night I was woken up at 3a.m. by a drunk upstairs, and the second night I was awoken at 12a.m. by small crawling bugs that I believe to be bed bugs! I showed the owner and he just looked and looked...no apology, no refund, nothing! I will never go back to this dump!

Room Tip: Look in your bed before you actually sleep in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disgustedmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galveston
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#36 of 51 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
1.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
0.2 mi away
Gaido's Seaside Inn
Gaido's Seaside Inn
#24 of 52 in Galveston Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galveston

Property: Travelodge Galveston
Address: 3924 Avenue U, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8555 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets allowed for a fee charged per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galveston Hotel Galveston
Econo Lodge Galveston
Galveston Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing