We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Galveston
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed June 7, 2012

ALL I HAVE TO SAY IF YOU WANT TO STAY HERE YOU SHOULD DEFENITELY STAY ON THE SECOND FLOOR. those are really the best rooms of the hotel. I been here 4 tines had a room on the 1st floor the courtains of the bathroom were discusting and the covers of the bed were smelly. Then the next time i stayed here i rented a room on the 2nd floor was fresh and covers were fresh and it smelled really good. Third time i stayed here i rented a room on the 3rd floor, oh my goodness worst room of the hotel, dont even know how to start! My last time staying there was recently it was on june 3rd 2012 well i ofcourse rented a room on the 2nd floor i still remember the room number 222. Again fresh and fresh towels, room was worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garcia_112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay g, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Galveston, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

nice to hear you had a great vacation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 594 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

Before our cruise we had booked this hotel for the night. After only 30 minutes we left. The front in manager was rude and unfriendly. The room had black mold, beds had bugs, the toliet was broken, wires were exposed, holes in walls, showers were not cleaned and trash oWhen yuutside the door and the list goes on and on. Now being in a beach area you expect not the best hotels but really can you say HEALTH department needs to close this one down. I will never stay in this hotel ever again or even the chain they were very unaccomidating and did not care about their guest. I did take pictures and sent them into the headquarters. They said we woul get our money back and the points we used back. Money yes because we stopped the payment and the points well we are till waiting a year later. When you see this hotel run, run very very fast.

Room Tip: Since there is no place for worst than terrible I had to chose terrible. No rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

First of all, we walked in without a reservation, Friday the 1st of June. We wanted two nights, the price was $330.00. That included a discount for AARP. We had driven a long way, and like idiots we said o k . The room was discussting, old cracked furniture, and dirty. Bottom of my feet were black after walking around the room for a few minuets. Had to where shoes all the time. Next day all dirty towels were gone, no ne towels, and the room was not made up I went to the front desk, the clerk was on the phone and the maids were eating. So I mentioned I did not have towels,and a middle aged maid accuses me of stealing the towels. Why would,I want those sandpaper grayed towels?????? I was pissed. The clerk got off the phone, tod the maid to shut up. The clerk got me clean towels and sad the room would be cleaned. We left for a few hours, and the room was never made up. The new clerk at the desk said no one to clean the room, at this time. On check out they took off 10 per cent for one might. B F D. The place is a garbage hole.

Room Tip: No such thing as a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garbagehole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

this hotel was renovated a couple of years back. it is in an area of galveston that seems somewhat secluded, but is literally one block away from the seawall. this is not a place to expect first class amenities and the elegance of atleast its competitors, the holiday inn's and best westerns of the world. (although some of those places arent spectacular either)

here is what you can expect:

the rooms have faux wood floors. the king size mattress was comfortable. the A/C was very cold. the bathroom had marble counters. the maid service is average, probably could have been more through with sweeping, but when he re-entered after their first cleaning, the room smelled fresh and our linens and towels were new. the pool is small, its a pool for an "inn" style hotel. it is tucked in the back of the property so it is somewhat isolated. we did not eat the breakfast, we walked once block up the street and ate at denny's. this place is dog friendly, which was great for us. we stayed on the third floor, and specifically requested a room towards the corners. i suggest you do the same.

bottom line: this place was a roach motel before, someone bought it, pumped some money into it and made it better. if you want a hotel where you can spend a majority of your time there, this place probably isnt that. if you want a place where you can rest in between whatever else you plan to do while your in galveston, then for the price.....i think its good. remember, this is not a resort...so ask yourself, if you are budgeting, what do you really put a premium on?

Room Tip: request a 3rd floor room, towards the corners of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We arrived very late after my family driving from Austin, and picking me up from Houston Hobby. We stayed one night on the way to a cruise the next day. Our entire family was so pumped up about the cruise that we overlooked how lousy this place was. Thankfully it was just for one night. Pros : close to the seawall.. well that is about it, oh cheap. Negative: dirty, rude people working there, pathetic "breakfast" if you want to call it that. We just had a cup of lousy coffee. A sign says no taking food to rooms.. sure but there is no room to even walk in the breakfast area. If you arrive late and are going on a cruise maybe, but i would try to find another motel. Just absoulty nasty place. If you are going to be enjoying Galveston, do yourself a favor and do not stay here. Its pretty bad. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here the night before our cruise was leaving. It's not the worst place I've ever been in but certainly isn't the best.

The clerk was not friendly, that's not to say he was rude but he sure wasn't friendly. The continental breakfast is horrible to.

For the price, I would stay here again but only for 1 night. If I was to vacation in Galveston, I would NOT stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Came on Easter Weekend. Was able to check into room 4 hrs early!! Spent time on beach. Easy access to beach. Clean, good value, and pet friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyrwfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay g, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Galveston, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

thank you for your visit come back and see us soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.3 mi away
Best Western Galveston West Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#39 of 51 in Galveston
352 reviews
3.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
2.8 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#27 of 51 in Galveston
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galveston

Address: 3924 Avenue U, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8555 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $55 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets allowed for a fee charged per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galveston Hotel Galveston
Econo Lodge Galveston
Galveston Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing