We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value across street from seawall on Easter weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Galveston
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
2 reviews
“Great value across street from seawall on Easter weekend.”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Came on Easter Weekend. Was able to check into room 4 hrs early!! Spent time on beach. Easy access to beach. Clean, good value, and pet friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyrwfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay g, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Galveston, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
thank you for your visit come back and see us soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    143
    122
    202
See reviews for
270
113
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights...rooms were somewhat clean, basically had a bathroom and a bed to sleep in. Breakfast was pathetic big lies ( free breakfast $ Same person was working for all three days .
. One patron witnessed it and reported it to the hotel clerk on duty who did nothing about it! When we mentioned it to the front desk employee in the morning, she could have cared less. And quite frankly most of the employees were unfriendly and lazy. Will never stay here again!!!
Sleep on the peach but never go there

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amadjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2011

First thing I hear when I walk into the lobby is babies crying in the backroom. Extremely overweight and rude front desk clerk comes out after i had to wait a while for service. Definitely should not be running the front desk of a hotel. But with paying 38 bucks for the night I guess I cant complain too bad. Just dont expect any help from the staff.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Magen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallettsville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Sure wish I saw this site before I booked our room and stayed here. This is my list of why you Should not stay. Wish I new how people got a full refund back, because we were told we would not be charged and were and then received a partial refund. Head all warnings.

Where do I start, I have a list of things that were BAD and Disgusting.
1. The room smelled. Not even a candle took the smell away. Figured out it was probably the mold in the bathroom.
2. There were 2 sticky spots on the floor in front of the sink and there were ants around them, had to clean it up.
3. The bathroom door opened into the bathroom, it should have swung out as there was no room in there and also the door did not even shut all the way, it was cut wrong.
4. The paint job in the room was terrible. There was paint drippings and spots everywhere.
5. The jacuzzi was filthy. Had to go out and buy something to clean it and then we didn't even use it because it was late and still had a dirty feel to it.
6. The noise outside was Loud and the people upstairs sounded like they were running and stomping on the floor all night long. No sound proofing at all.
7. Get up in the morning and there is a cockroach going across the floor.
8. Continental breakfast was not ready when told. The door was still locked and rang the bell, waited for 5 minutes and no one showed up.
9. The only good thing about it was that we were not charged for the stay or the cancellation of the next night. There was No Way we were staying there again and Never will. I have Nothing good to say about this establishment.

Oops I was wrong, we WERE Charged for the 1st night. How RUDE and UNPROFESSIONAL are they. They credited us $10 and suppose to be another $25 coming. Still is not a no charge like was told. DON"T believe what they tell you, don't take chances at this establishment, if you want a decent room, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Room Tip: Don't even book one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jndkehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed one night while in Galveston for a cruise. The desk clerk was surly and uncommunicative. No information was offered about breakfast or ice, or anything, really. The outside walkway was covered in bird droppings. Our room, which had been booked for 5 months, appeared fairly clean, but one of the beds was missing a pillow. There was no coffee pot in the room. In addition, the bathroom door wouldn't close properly, there were floor boards missing from beside one of the beds, and the deadbolt on the outside door didn't work. We were too tired to look elsewhere for one night, so we just piled our luggage in front of the door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nealla831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANKSTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed 2 nights...rooms were somewhat clean, basically had a bathroom and a bed to sleep in. Breakfast was pathetic! However, the night before our departure we had quite a few items stolen from the back of our truck. (Approx $150 worth of food, drinks, ice chest, etc). One patron witnessed it and reported it to the hotel clerk on duty who did nothing about it! When we mentioned it to the front desk employee in the morning, she could have cared less. And quite frankly most of the employees were unfriendly and lazy. Will never stay here again!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JULIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard Tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. We stayed Sunday through Wednesday. We brought our little pomeranian. They only charged us $10 dollars per night extra for our pet . We loved the room, We asked to be on the second floor away from everyone because of our pet and they accomadated us with our request. They have an elevator and it was fast getting up to our room. It had a king size bed and was very roomy. It was remodeled with new furniture including a new mattress. It also had a new bedspread, currtain and was freshly painted. The air was ice cold. We really liked the new flooring in our room, it looked like hardwood floors. The room smelled good.The bathroom and dressing area had real ceramic tile and marble counter top and the shower was great, the hot water was wonderful. The microwave and refridgerator was nice to have at no extra charge. We had plenty of towels , wash clothes and they also provided soap and little bottles of shampoo and conditioner.The free breakfast was good, It included cereal, milk , orange and apple juice, coffee, danish, blue berry and banana nut muffin and texas shaped waffels . The motel is really close to everything, our room was within walking distance to the seawall , beach and several places to eat . Travelodge also gave my husband a government discount for being in the Fire Service.. The only thing we didn't like is that the pool was not open even though it seemed like all the other motel pools were still open for the season. and the ice machine on the second floor was out of order. This is why we are only giving the Galveston Travelodge a rating of 4. I also have to agree with the other reviews the staff isn't very friendly . They werent rude to us just not friendly. They never greeted us or spoke to us unless we asked them a question . We will stay here again and we would recomend this hotel to our friends and family. We only paid $29 per night including my husband's government discount plus the $10 per night for our pomeranian. In order to get the government discount you have to go online at the Travelodge website for reservations .

Room Tip: The room above the office had a view of the ocean from the dressing room window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauriie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay g, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Galveston, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
thank you for your visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galveston
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#36 of 51 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
1.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
0.2 mi away
Gaido's Seaside Inn
Gaido's Seaside Inn
#24 of 52 in Galveston Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galveston

Property: Travelodge Galveston
Address: 3924 Avenue U, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8555 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets allowed for a fee charged per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galveston Hotel Galveston
Econo Lodge Galveston
Galveston Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing