We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always happy to stay”
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Galveston
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed April 20, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 530 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during the week, in April 2013. The rooms have recently been remodeled and they look good. The rooms are spacious, and the closets huge (see pics). The location is good, considering the seawall is a 2 minute walk. We asked for a late check out of noon, and the front desk said definitely. The cleaning lady came to our door, opened it up, and sat with our door cracked asking if we had a late check out. The front desk called at 11:15 asking what time we were checking out and asked if we had a late check out. 5 minutes later the cleaning lady came back, opened the door and asked what time we were leaving. Pretty silly and left us feeling unwanted. Too many hotels to in Galveston to deal with that. Hope this helps, sometime this place has the best prices for the quality and is worth the chance. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeke h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently stayed in Galveston Super 8 and was impressed with the quality of the accommodation but very disappointed with the customer service and the ability to sleep. I am a professional triathlete and was in town for the Ironman Texas 70.3. As the race was about 5 horus in duration I requested a late check out and was told that the latest would be 1 or 2 pm. I was satisfied with this answer but on the morning of the race when we returned, we were constantly hassled to get out even being told at one point that we had 20 minutes to leave (it was only 12:45 when we checked out).
In addition, the night before the race I got only 2 hours sleep because the person occupying the room above mine was partying until 3AM. After being woken up several times I finally called the night clerk and asked him to take care of it. He made an effort but the problem was not taken care of. We finally had to go over to the front desk and demand that they stop the noise or we would not be paying for the room.
Overall, I am not satisfied with my stay and will not likely stay or recommend that location in the future. They need to work on customer service and policies for noise, even if it means they make an unruly guest vacate in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Over all the stay was nice. Wish check in time could be a little sooner though. Like the fact so many eating places are right around the corner. Could have had a television guide of some sort so we knew what channels were what. Would like to stay again, maybe with a disounted price. If I could get a discounted price, I would definately go at least once a month

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family (4 chidlren & 2 adults) and I stayed here for our Spring Break!
CONS: The price is just too out of line, no iron, iron board, trash bags and the carpet is just completely FILTHY and STICKY. DO NOT DARE to walk barefooted in the room or you will end up with your feets pitch black. Continental breakfast is the worst, they need to definetly make some changes: add ons (Thank God there is a Waffle House in the same parking lot).
Pros: Great location (but no ocean view) walking distance from the seawall, beds are comfortable, nice room deco, friendly staff and great service as our frig was not working when we arrived and it was replaced in less than 10 minutes from reporting it to the front desk!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#38 of 51 in Galveston
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Galveston

Address: 2825 1/2B 61st St, 61st Street & Seawall, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: $48 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Galveston Hotel Galveston
Super Eight Galveston
Galveston Super 8
Galveston Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing