We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Galveston trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Galveston
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    115
    108
    57
    57
See reviews for
171
104
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently stayed in Galveston Super 8 and was impressed with the quality of the accommodation but very disappointed with the customer service and the ability to sleep. I am a professional triathlete and was in town for the Ironman Texas 70.3. As the race was about 5 horus in duration I requested a late check out and was told that the latest would be 1 or 2 pm. I was satisfied with this answer but on the morning of the race when we returned, we were constantly hassled to get out even being told at one point that we had 20 minutes to leave (it was only 12:45 when we checked out).
In addition, the night before the race I got only 2 hours sleep because the person occupying the room above mine was partying until 3AM. After being woken up several times I finally called the night clerk and asked him to take care of it. He made an effort but the problem was not taken care of. We finally had to go over to the front desk and demand that they stop the noise or we would not be paying for the room.
Overall, I am not satisfied with my stay and will not likely stay or recommend that location in the future. They need to work on customer service and policies for noise, even if it means they make an unruly guest vacate in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Over all the stay was nice. Wish check in time could be a little sooner though. Like the fact so many eating places are right around the corner. Could have had a television guide of some sort so we knew what channels were what. Would like to stay again, maybe with a disounted price. If I could get a discounted price, I would definately go at least once a month

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family (4 chidlren & 2 adults) and I stayed here for our Spring Break!
CONS: The price is just too out of line, no iron, iron board, trash bags and the carpet is just completely FILTHY and STICKY. DO NOT DARE to walk barefooted in the room or you will end up with your feets pitch black. Continental breakfast is the worst, they need to definetly make some changes: add ons (Thank God there is a Waffle House in the same parking lot).
Pros: Great location (but no ocean view) walking distance from the seawall, beds are comfortable, nice room deco, friendly staff and great service as our frig was not working when we arrived and it was replaced in less than 10 minutes from reporting it to the front desk!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The air conditioning was putting out an order and it was making my grandson nose run as well as mine. I went to the desk and the attended came to the room to check it out. So he turned it off and bought us a fan it helped a lot. The next morning I went too see if they had a room for me to move too. I was amazed at the room. It had hard wood floors, and immediately I could feel the difference with my breathing which made our stay more enjoyable. We have stayed in the same motel for the past 8 years and it get better every year.

Gannie

Room Tip: On the front if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
2.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#40 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
1.3 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#26 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Galveston

Property: Super 8 Galveston
Address: 2825 1/2B 61st St, 61st Street & Seawall, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Galveston Hotel Galveston
Super Eight Galveston
Galveston Super Eight
Galveston Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing