We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price was right, thats all that was!”
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Galveston
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed November 23, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JAMES R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 504 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank CARINA O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank WESLEY T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We didn't come here for ambience or glamour. We came here to have a stopping place while we roamed the island and to spend the night. The room was updated to Super 8 standards and it served its purpose. Rooms are costly on the island anyway so if i could have afforded it i would have gone someplace else but this wasn't that bad for the night. Everything worked and we had all we needed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shargurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This Super 8 looked like the management was in the middle of an upgrade then just stopped or thought they had done enough.

Remember that most of these hotel chains are franchises and are completely untouched by any sort of corporate entity so the management are the only people who have control over the property.

That being said, ive come to find that when staying at these sort of motels (which seems to be too often), the experience is always quite random.

Location - the location is very good and is only a few blocks from the beach on Seawall Blvd. Since Seawall Blvd is one of the main streets on the island, there is all sorts of things in the area. Restaurants, Bars, Grocery Stores, Shopping Centers, etc. Most everything you need during a stay in Galveston is right there. Its simple to locate from the highway as well. Just one turn from the highway and after a few lights, your there. Although, it sits directly behind a Waffle House which i found somewhat strange. You have to literally drive through the Waffle House parking lot to get to the motel entrance.

Property - The property is pretty much just old and run down. nothing special. we've seen it before. didnt knock my socks off.

Service - I have to say, the staff at the front desk was very professional, polite, and mad my check in a breeze. I had my room keys in about 5 minutes from walking in the door, after getting a quick run down of the property and the area.

Rooms - The room looked nice when I walked in the door. The furniture looked pretty modern, how it looks on the website pics. The room had a sort of art deco vibe to it and had lots of colors, upgraded headboards, window treatments, and different colored accent walls. The bathroom looked like it had gone thru an upgrade with a nice stone finish shower stall, a nice tile floor, and chrome hardware throughout (towel racks, handles, etc). standard coffee maker, hair dryer, and ice bucket and cups in the bathroom sink area
There room was really big with 2 queen beds, a table with 2 chairs (instead of a desk, i guess), a 4ft floor lamp in the corner, a long entertainment center, mini fridge, and microwave.
Now, with all that stuff, you would think it sounds like a pretty nice room, right? Well, it was. But then again it wasnt...

The room was pretty filthy overall. It had that grime that an old building gets over the years. Dirty light switches, worn carpet, shabby bed linens (my sheets and bedspread had a few tears and marks on them), even though the bathroom was upgraded, the bathtub drain was clogged or something because it would fill up while showering, then leave a nasty film in the tub when done. The a/c temperature was VERY hard to control. No matter what temp it was set on, it would either be too hot or too cold. the a/c vent was also disgustingly dirty and moldy so the air had that slight musty/moldy smell when the a/c would be on for awhile. With all the room upgrades they attempted, they forgot to upgrade the tv. the tv was a 27" OLD SCHOOL tube tv with a remote that barely worked. The walls near the door were somewhat dirty and other places on the walls looked like they had repaired holes and painted over them with a slightly different color. The beds were uncomfortable, the pillows were flat, and the sheets and pillowcases were stained and torn in places. The room was basically like a Monet. Looks better from far away. Bottom line it was pretty gross.

Amenities - apparently all Super 8's now offer this standard set of property amenities.
1.) pool. i didnt go to this pool but it looked small and like every other motel pool that i dont go to. just go to the beach
2) continental breakfast - same continental breakfast you see everywhere else. cereal, muffins, donuts, juice, coffee, package oatmeal, and maybe some oranges and apples. nothing special.
3.) free wifi - i usually praise motels for having free wifi but this super 8 just should do away with theirs. its so SLOW. i think i got 1mb down speed. it might have been less than that. checking emails was like using dialup.

This wasnt the best stay at a motel and it wasnt the worst. if they completed whatever upgrades they were working on, it might be a good place. Oh and they should give the rooms a deep clean to get rid of that grime.

The Beachcomber motel is next door and offers the exact same amenities, prices, and location and is a much cleaner property. ive stayed there in the past and having to stay in the Super 8 with the Beachcomber right outside my door was rather depressing.

Room Tip: stay at the hotel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thecool272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were really disappointed with our stay. These hotel really needs updating. bugs found several times in our room. Phones did not work in room, so heaven help you if you need 911. We were trying to save money but not worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Bedspreads shabby, hard to find, got a handicapped room don't know why.
Was not sure if all people in parking lot or pool area were guests of hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank GLORIA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.3 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#27 of 51 in Galveston
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Galveston

Address: 2825 1/2B 61st St, 61st Street & Seawall, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: $102 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Galveston Hotel Galveston
Super Eight Galveston
Galveston Super 8
Galveston Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing