We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast Buffet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryants Jungle Cafe

Bryants Jungle Cafe
Ranked #119 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home of the Original Jungle Restaurant Classics like the Hippo Hoagie, Cheetah Pita, Aardvark Club, Cougar Cuban, Dog Gone Wild and much more. Now BOI owned and still family operated. Dine in, Carry out, and Delivery to all of Galveston. Breakfast Buffett, patio seating and a warm family friendly atmosphere.
Nederland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Weekend of Labor Day stopped by for breakfast. EXCELLENT cook! Pancakes and Eggs are special item requests so he can cook them the way you like them. The breakfast is bisquet, toast, waffles, mini sausage links, bacon & sausage patties, grits, hashbrowns, gravy etc. Orange juice, cokes & coffee are paid for seperate. You can eat inside or on the patio that overlooks the swimmings pool. They also serve lunch & dinner and room service to the Inn at the Waterpark next door. The breakfast buffet was only $7.99 and a nice variety.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    15
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Edible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

While the food was unimpressive, it was not awful. It was edible. The dinner was merely ok. The breakfast buffet was tasty and the option to custom prepare was nice. However, the set out buffet choices were soggy, or greasy, or cold...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Cuban Sandwich I've had in a long time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

So this is a little hole in the wall sort of place that has a pretty eclectic menu to choose from. You place your order at the counter and they bring your food too you. There is not much of an atmosphere and they do not serve alcohol (at least not that I noticed) but they do have outside seating.

I had a Cuban sandwich which was probably the most authentic tasting I can find on the island. I love when people get creative with ingredients and put things together that I would never dream of, but sometimes when I'm craving something, I want exactly what I want and in this case, I wanted a Cuban sandwich and I wasn't disappointed. Definitely will be back again, if only for the Cuban! (Apparently there are 2 Jungle restaurants on the island, I visited the West location)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ocnsunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
357 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Quick service near Moody Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Staying at Moody Gardens and needed a quick meal. This place offers a wide variety on its menu. The food is fresh and good. The restaurant was clean and the prices were moderate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BushkaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Galveston secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Lived in Galveston for 2 yrs and didn't know about this place until a lady I work with told me about it. The food is really good and they even have veggie options.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryants Jungle Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Bryants Jungle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing