We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner during Art Walk”

Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille
Ranked #8 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
452 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Dinner during Art Walk”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

After a little mix up to actually seat our party of six, the rest of the meal was great. It is a small place, so take a good look for yourself and judge how long it might be if you aren't seated immediately.

We had Shrimp Cocktail and the Blackened Bounty Mix for appetizers. A really large amount of both and was plenty for us. The Shrimp Cocktail was super fresh with tasty cocktail sauce mixed with pico. The Bounty Mix had great flavor and wasn't too spicy.

Main courses were equally good and massive amounts. Fried shrimp, grilled Bounty Mix, crawfish, catfish all served with good sides and fresh salads if needed. Great value for the Island - it was $120 for the six of us.

We would certainly go back - especially if they would take over the second floor to expand the seating. Well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    206
    60
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Deep South
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Decent Fried Seafood in a Convenient Spot”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you're visiting Galveston and want to eat somewhere slightly less touristy than on the Strand or Seawall, this is a decent option. We shared a fried oyster platter, which was big enough for two, and got an extra dinner salad so that both of us could have some roughage! The service was good and the place was just fine, though we are a child-free couple and were less than thrilled with several tables of yelling and walking around children. If you want a quick, decent meal, this is the place. No frills.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EBovary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichenau, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“away from the crowed”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Good place to have a drink and a good place to eat. Good food, casual wear and reasonable prices. I enjoyed my blackened salmon, my wife had an excellent Caesar salad with a tuna steak. The staff was helpful and very attended to the guests.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPECTATION -- LOW SATISFACTION”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

For a quick trip to Galveston, I researched restaurants on Trip Advisor so that during our short stay we would have some great foodie experiences. Black Pearl Oyster Bar was a sore disappointment. After waiting almost an hour, we found out from another customer that they were, yes, out of oysters. What highly rated oyster bar in a seaside town would allow itself to run out of oysters on the 2nd day of a 3 day weekend - Memorial Day weekend. Oh, and did I mention they were also out of french fries? And flounder? So we ordered fried shrimp amd softshell crab. It was ok - the breading was tasteless. Service was fair at best.
My suggestion? Go to Jimmys on the Pier - it was awesome all the way around and you get a waterfront view and breeze as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and service. ”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Had trouble finding a place to eat. Then we found the Black Pearl. The Catfish Special was excellent, grilled and fried. Patricia excellent and pleasant. Great price.

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing