We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters oh my!”

Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille
Ranked #9 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oysters oh my!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Highly recommend two appetizers: oysters 3 ways and the pirates bounty. Plenty of food for two. The oysters diablo and Rockefeller are outstanding. Our waiter was very efficient and knowledgeable of the way the food is prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    196
    57
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thompsons Station, TN
Level Contributor
204 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Food Off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our Hotel front desk clerk told us this was one of the good seafood restaurants in the area. This is more of a neighborhood bar than regular restaurant. It's not very big but don't let that deter you from visiting here. The seafood has a Louisiana influence with dishes like BBQ shrimp and Etouffee, both of which we had. They were both good but not great. We did start the meal with an order of onion rings which were very good and finished with an order of bread pudding which was also good. It was busy and the service was a bit slow but we enjoyed our time there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
2 reviews
“Best place we ate”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

While on our vacation in Galveston, ate dinner at the Black Pearl. Great oysters on the half shell, crab cakes and shrimp. Best we had while in town.
Waitstaff was friendly, attentive and genuinely helpful without being intrusive. A wonderful, small place with good atmosphere for easy going dining or a celebration.
We will be back when next in town. Highly Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Shrimp Salad & Gumbo”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went to Galveston for a weekend & had lunch at the Black Pearl Oyster Grill. My wife had a shrimp salad that was very good & I had a bowl of seafood gumbo. It was tasty although the roux was not as thick as Louisiana gumbo. The service was good & responsive. The restaurant (and this is meant to be a compliment) is a genuine Galveston hole in the wall bar & grill with more locals(I think) than tourists Good place for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonDog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiki Island, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Keep Those Oysters Coming!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Fantastic place for oysters - raw or with a multitude of toppings on them. Excellent waitstaff - very attentive and always helpful and smiling. Some favorites on the menu are the barbecue shrimp, shrimp diablo, bounty mix (blackened "bar trash" with rice and butter), the enormous muffaleta, fish tacos and the shrimp & crab cakes. And any of the fresh fish entrees are tasty - you get veggies and big baked potato with them and the blackened salmon or the ahi tuna are my absolute favorites. As you can tell, I've been there A LOT. Wouldn't go if it wasn't great - please consider it the next time you're down Galveston. Tell Chris behind the bar I said :Hi".

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing