We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dropped in for Happy Hour -- good choice!”

Brick House Tavern + Tap
Ranked #55 of 314 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Tottenham ON
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Dropped in for Happy Hour -- good choice!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We are down here for a month, so we figured we'd stop by the Brick House for Happy Hour and check it out.

We ordered wings and shrimp bites. The shrimp were large and the fried cherry peppers were tart and delicious! We are very particular about our chicken wings (they have to compete with mine!)... and these were very good - very meaty and cooked well. The sauce was the perfect "hot" ... flavourful and with a bite.

The house wine is decent ($4 at happy hour) and the cans of domestic beer at $1 each, come in little paper bags,,,, cute!

We found the service to be attentive and friendly - I'm not sure what some of the other reviewers were going on about... We are staying about three blocks away, so we hung out here for a couple of hours, and about three rounds.

All in all, we left full and slightly tipsy for less than $30 (not including tip) -- and to a couple from the Toronto area, that's just crazy!

We'll be back before we go home, that's for certain

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GetnThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    103
    43
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Spot”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful Bloody Mary; good selection of craft beer. Great service. Nice choices of small plates for a light brunch. Football on many screens.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kellypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Vacation”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to sit and enjoy. Inside is very nice with table and couches with tvs. The bar is fun along with the outside areas. Nice big fire pit outside. It's was kind of cool so that was a nice surprise. The ocean is just across the street. There was couples that brought their dogs in as well. Being dog lovers we thought this was great. They even brought the dog a water bowl. The menu is outstanding for food and drinks.....have to try the deviled eggs!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buffman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad Night at the restaurant”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have been to the Brick House Tavern and Tap in the past and food was good and service was very good. Must have changed owners/managers/cooks and wait staff. It was afwul. Service was slow, meal was cold. Never have left a restaurant hungry until tonight. We will not be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKHF58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Don't miss the happy hour...the atmosphere is wonderful. At the cheese platter and the spicy shrimp for appetizers. Many wonderful beers..and it's ice cold!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodies1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brick House Tavern + Tap also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Brick House Tavern + Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing