We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing!”

Russo's New York Pizzeria
Ranked #71 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Description: New York style pizza, giant pizza slices, calzones, pastas, salads, soups, piadina flatbread sandwiches, fresh pastas, gluten free pasta, gluten free pizza, beer, wine, desserts, kids menu, New York cheesecake. At Russo's New York Pizzeria, we're inspired by the traditional Italian values of family, friends and, of course, food. Our menus deliver delicious Italian meals prepared with our passion for food, fresh ingredients and the goal of providing our guests a distinctive dining experience. Reminiscent of the authentic pizzerias from the Italian neighborhoods, everything is made from scratch with hand-picked ingredients, in traditional Italian style. Into the oven it goes. Russo's New York Pizzerias only use traditional brick ovens because brick ovens give Russo's New York pizza the crisp crust and authentic taste our fans and guests have come to love.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So disappointing!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have eaten at the Russo's location in League City so this was so disappointing. Pizza was overlooked and bland with virtually no sauce. The restaurant was dirty and the fountain drinks tasted strange. The unsweetened tea was actually peach tea and my husband tasted the sweet tea that was actually lemon tea. He said the soda tasted weird so he wouldn't drink it. We really love the location in League City but we won't retrun to the island location. Oh, I literally stood for five minutes before our order was taken and no one came to our table like they do at the other location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Location is perfect, across from Stewart Beach but set back enough from Seawall Blvd. to find easy parking and escape the crowd. We got two large pizzas and took half home. The margherita pizza was delicious; fresh tomato slices, great cheese. The double pepperoni was a little salty to me, but very good. I like Russo's in Houston and it was great to find it in Galveston. We will be back to try some of the other Italian dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Galveston--very NY”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The pizza is top-notch, really great. Lots of other italian dishes eg calzones, and dessert (cake, etc) that the family really enjoyed. We went twice and will go back.
The staff and manager were friendly, nice, and very compitent.
He kept the place open an extra hour on a Wed becaue our family and one other came in right at closing time--offered to give tastes of wine/dessert, and even gave kids a free sampler of his favorite dessert. Some other reviews were wrong--he is not rude--he is competitent, manages the place well and knows how to make pizza. Next time in Galveston, we will be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheEngineer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Irresistable Desserts”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a quick & easy place for dinner and chose this based on other reviews. We (2 adults, one picky 3 yr old) split a large NY-style pizza which was big enough to satisfy our very hungry appetites after a long day at Moody Gardens. It was delicious and the crust was light and crisp. My hubby who never eats the crust didn't leave a crumb on his plate!
Sadly for our waistlines but fortunately for our taste buds, the desserts were on display and looked too good to pass up. It's vacation, right?! The NY-style cheesecake was great, but the Italian Cream Cake was AWESOME! Really, just have some.
Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful but Pricey”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The pizza was supreme no doubt but so was the price. I was charged 30.00 for a large pizza and two drinks

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russo's New York Pizzeria also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Russo's New York Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing