We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RUDE STAFF!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Diamond member of Best Western (which means we stay at Best Western many, many times throughout a year) have NEVER encountered a more rude front desk person at Best Western or any other hotel for that matter. Will not stay at this establishment and will not recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank 266RachelS266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 661 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Staying here in the off season and the price is only $48 a night. I choose this property because it's at the east of Seawall Blvd and away from the main rush of people but easy to get to all of the attractions. The renovated rooms are very nice and updated, clean with high ceilings which makes the room feel bigger. Nice workout area and pool. The breakfast is compatable to other continental breakfast bars at other hotels. My first night here, the people in the room next to mine were very loud and noisy. The night time manager took care of the issue and those people were gone the next day thankfully. My one negative is that the hot water does not get hot enough for my taste but overall it was a great place to stay for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor so you can get a better view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Average property for a Best Western. Will say staff was nice and even upgraded us to an ocean-view when we booked a standard. Breakfast was slightly below avg. on choices and quality. Of course you pay more than you normally would for a hotel like this because of its location across from the beach. It would cost at least $100, more like $175 a night more, to stay at a 4 or 5 star hotel. Location close to UTMB was our reason for staying since we were in town to attend events there and hotel pickings are slim in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluke996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights with our youngest son. We were very happy with the hotel. The staff were very accommodating and helpful, the breakfast was very good, and the location across the road from Stewart Beach was very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

By the way, we booked this hotel through Priceline and got it for $25 less than the advertised price on the BW website.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ArdyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Let me just start by telling you about our check in...the lady at the front desk (Heather) was so high on whatever drugs and/or additional medication she was taking she continued to put her head on the desk to take a nap during our check in. After hearing her complain about how she was feeling it took 27 min. to check in. Throughout this check in she punched the wrong keys, actually said she didn't "understand how to do this", and we were over charged by almost $500!!! When we spoke to the manager the next day he never apologized and seemed to not know what was going on around him. The morning desk clerk (Victoria) was absolutely wonderful and tried to fix the situation explaining how Heather had over charged us (we had already pre-paid through hotwire). It seemed like she was trying to keep everything together because the manager wasn't doing a thing to help AND continued to look confused and still never spoke one word to us.
On top of being over charged and treated like we were crazy for being mad that we were just charged this much, the stay there was terrible. For the two days that we stayed the night we were unable to sleep because of the housekeeping. They starting banging on doors before 9:00 and while they were cleaning rooms they would scream down the hallways. Not only were the mornings crazy we were unable to go to bed until 1 and 2 in the morning because people were partying in the hallways. It was awful.
And lastly, when I went to the front desk to get fresh towels (we had asked house keeping not to clean our room) the woman at the desk told me "No". When I asked her why she told me she needed our dirty towels. When I brought the dirty towels to her she let me know this was not her rule and that she had no intentions of touching our dirty laundry!
Stay anywhere else if possible. I cannot believe how we were treated throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Texas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The first moment we entered the hotel we were greeted by the nicest front desk clerk we had ever met, Jill. She greeted us with enthusiasm and helped us with all of our questions. Since I am in online school I have to have access to the Internet. Not only was the Internet super high speed, but also the business center was excellent. I was having trouble with the printer and Jill came to the rescue. She even made me a fresh pot of coffee since she knew I was going to have a late night studying. The rooms were wonderful...great pillows & comfortable beds. This location is perfect if you want to stay a little away from the seawall so there's not too much traffic every time you leave the hotel. It's only about 2 minutes from the seawall. We have now found a hotel we want to stay at anytime we visit Galveston!!! Oh, and the continental breakfast is awesome!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall are the quietest b/c there is one busy pool in the front where kids are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijal M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thank you staying with us. We are happy to know your enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.

BJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was the best, Best Western hotel I have stayed at so far. The rooms are nice and big, and the matresses are soft. The rooms smell new, and they have a sofa, mini fridge, microwave, hairdryer, and so much more. The pool and the flowers around the pool are pretty, and the pool is clean. The ceiling is high and the breakfast is not great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tawny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijal M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thank you staying with us. We are happy to know your enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.

BJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 51 in Galveston
817 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach

Address: 102 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-5720 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Stewart Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $83 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach Hotel Galveston
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn And Suites By The Beach
Comfort Inn Stewart Beach
Comfort Inn Galveston
Galveston Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing