We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not sure there should be a Plus in the name.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not sure there should be a Plus in the name.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Average property for a Best Western. Will say staff was nice and even upgraded us to an ocean-view when we booked a standard. Breakfast was slightly below avg. on choices and quality. Of course you pay more than you normally would for a hotel like this because of its location across from the beach. It would cost at least $100, more like $175 a night more, to stay at a 4 or 5 star hotel. Location close to UTMB was our reason for staying since we were in town to attend events there and hotel pickings are slim in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluke996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    178
    68
    29
    29
See reviews for
200
184
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights with our youngest son. We were very happy with the hotel. The staff were very accommodating and helpful, the breakfast was very good, and the location across the road from Stewart Beach was very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

By the way, we booked this hotel through Priceline and got it for $25 less than the advertised price on the BW website.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArdyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Let me just start by telling you about our check in...the lady at the front desk (Heather) was so high on whatever drugs and/or additional medication she was taking she continued to put her head on the desk to take a nap during our check in. After hearing her complain about how she was feeling it took 27 min. to check in. Throughout this check in she punched the wrong keys, actually said she didn't "understand how to do this", and we were over charged by almost $500!!! When we spoke to the manager the next day he never apologized and seemed to not know what was going on around him. The morning desk clerk (Victoria) was absolutely wonderful and tried to fix the situation explaining how Heather had over charged us (we had already pre-paid through hotwire). It seemed like she was trying to keep everything together because the manager wasn't doing a thing to help AND continued to look confused and still never spoke one word to us.
On top of being over charged and treated like we were crazy for being mad that we were just charged this much, the stay there was terrible. For the two days that we stayed the night we were unable to sleep because of the housekeeping. They starting banging on doors before 9:00 and while they were cleaning rooms they would scream down the hallways. Not only were the mornings crazy we were unable to go to bed until 1 and 2 in the morning because people were partying in the hallways. It was awful.
And lastly, when I went to the front desk to get fresh towels (we had asked house keeping not to clean our room) the woman at the desk told me "No". When I asked her why she told me she needed our dirty towels. When I brought the dirty towels to her she let me know this was not her rule and that she had no intentions of touching our dirty laundry!
Stay anywhere else if possible. I cannot believe how we were treated throughout our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The first moment we entered the hotel we were greeted by the nicest front desk clerk we had ever met, Jill. She greeted us with enthusiasm and helped us with all of our questions. Since I am in online school I have to have access to the Internet. Not only was the Internet super high speed, but also the business center was excellent. I was having trouble with the printer and Jill came to the rescue. She even made me a fresh pot of coffee since she knew I was going to have a late night studying. The rooms were wonderful...great pillows & comfortable beds. This location is perfect if you want to stay a little away from the seawall so there's not too much traffic every time you leave the hotel. It's only about 2 minutes from the seawall. We have now found a hotel we want to stay at anytime we visit Galveston!!! Oh, and the continental breakfast is awesome!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall are the quietest b/c there is one busy pool in the front where kids are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijal M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you staying with us. We are happy to know your enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.

BJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was the best, Best Western hotel I have stayed at so far. The rooms are nice and big, and the matresses are soft. The rooms smell new, and they have a sofa, mini fridge, microwave, hairdryer, and so much more. The pool and the flowers around the pool are pretty, and the pool is clean. The ceiling is high and the breakfast is not great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijal M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you staying with us. We are happy to know your enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.

BJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed the weekend of june 14-16 2012,it was wonderful ! The staff was wonderful and helpful . We had misplaced our camera in the hotel room . Thank goodness, the staff was helpful in calling us and letting us know they had found it. The hotel overall was kept clean by staff . I would like to recommend this hotel to anyone who can help keep this hotel organized and clean !!!! THANK YOU "MIEMIE"

Room Tip: Great hotel for grandparents. Hotel located on seawall but not close to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijal M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you staying with us. We are happy to know your enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.

BJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The purpose of my trip was to go fishing near east beach at night so the location was great as this is the last hotel on the seawall going east. It took less than 2 minutes to get to the fishing spot.
Friendly Service.
Overall the hotel and rooms were clean except when people are swimming, the lobby floor stays wet. Can't really blame BW for that just lot of kids there. Great views from room, limited channel selection. Free breakfast was nice with eggs, bacon, cereal, Texas shaped waffles, and juice.
Another thing is the hallways are very bouncy.
Will be coming back in October for the flounder run and the rates get better too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramremodelingtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip back.

Sherry Claussen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.9 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Address: 102 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-5720 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Stewart Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach Hotel Galveston
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn And Suites By The Beach
Comfort Inn Stewart Beach
Comfort Inn Galveston
Galveston Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing