We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun finding the tree sculptures!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tree Sculptures

Tree Sculptures
Ranked #5 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
CS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun finding the tree sculptures!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stopped by the visitor center and got a map and then drove up and down the streets finding them. So sad to think of the trees that were lost in the hurricane. It was also interesting to look at the various types of architecture of the homes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmaniacCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    214
    48
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Duncanville, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique sculptures!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Take the Historic Tour through this area by golf cart. The guide tells great stories about the naming of the sculptures and points out the historic water marks from the major storms. Well worth the $12.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LTCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“The silver lining of Ike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The tree sculptures of Galveston are so beautiful and they show the true treasure uncovered after Ike- the strength and talent of the BOI galvestonians that created them... These diamonds are hidden all over the island, the stumps of once stately old trees destroyed by hurricane Ike. Love them! One of the real jewels that made me love that city while working at UTMB...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Drive through the Historic District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's amazing what you can do with old dead trees, victims of the late Hurricane IKE. Last year my wife and I were driving through the historic district when we spotted one of the carving in the shape of a turtle, we thought this was just the cutest thing and then we saw another in the shape of an angel. We spent the rest of the afternoon driving up one street and down the next looking for more sculptures. This sculpting of the old dead trees has really caught on and it is well worth a short drive in the Historic District to check out the tree art.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jt093812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Need to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The brochure photos are better than what you can now see. In some cases they have not aged well or someone has inexpertly tried to touch them up. In some cases the owners have put plantings around the sculptures and the are partially obscured now. It's convenient that they are all on 3 neighboring streets. You can definitely tell there were 3 different carvers - some more detailed than others. We enjoyed seeing them at our leisure.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Qontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Sculptures also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Tree Sculptures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing