We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wind, Water and Dolphins!!”

Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry
Ranked #1 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wind, Water and Dolphins!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

No car needed-we walked onto the ferry! The winds were whipping over 24 mph that day which made it difficult to stand outside so we took advantage of the interior room . We looked out one of the many windows and spotted several pair of dolphins on the first leg of the trip. We braved the winds on the return trip and stayed outside. We saw dozens of dolphins! Also enjoyed all the seagulls and pelicans that congregate around the piers.
As we walked off the boat we talked with a Galveston native. He told us he spotted his first PINK DOLPHIN a week earlier. Wow!
This was a fun mini-adventure and it was free! Thanks Galveston.We'll be back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TCTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,064
    718
    184
    32
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views and dolphins as promised”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What more could you want from a FREE ferry?! No waiting time, quick ride and spotted dolphins along the way.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wetravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great free entertainment...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a way to spend a few hours. If you really want to have a good time, take a bag of cheetos and hand them to a little kid to feed to the seagulls. :) Instant scene from an Alfred Hitchcock movie.

Way fun...and FREE!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth a drive!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We always do a ferry trip from Galv Is to Bolivar when on vacation in Galveston, it is free and worth the time, for a change of pace and change of scenery. Was quite devastating after hurricane Ike, but ferry still ran, and the Bolivar area has improved a lot since late 2008 when Ike hit. Love the free ferry!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank jckc0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
132 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Trek”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great way to get over to Bolivar and it is very cheap. I think it was just a few dollars a car. We had an opportunity to get some great shots of dolphins that were swimming near the ferry.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank txcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing