We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across from Mosquito Cafe”
Review of PattyCakes Bakery

PattyCakes Bakery
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Description: Excellent and beautiful baked goods. Owners also own Mosquito Cafe located on 14th St, just across the street. OFFERS BAKED DOG TREATS.
Restaurant details
Description: Excellent and beautiful baked goods. Owners also own Mosquito Cafe located on 14th St, just across the street. OFFERS BAKED DOG TREATS.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Across from Mosquito Cafe”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is owned by the folks at Mosquito Cafe and is just wonderful. Small place so easy to stop by for desserts/sweets or a cup of coffee on the go. Can not eat in here, just enough space to pick up and go with.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dbt54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    32
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New, exciting and sister to an all Island favourite!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Pattycakes Bakery is owned by the Rennick. Yes, the same folks who own and operate the Mosquito Cafe, right across the street!
Not only do they keep their restaurant filled with fresh bread for menu items, cakes and cookies to die for, now you can get whatever you need in the way of pastries for YOUR events!! Their occasional cakes are some of the best I've ever eaten! I needed a small wedding cake for a spur-of -the-moment wedding. Patricia Rennick took the order herself, took care with my choices and Steven Rennick, master baker, created an elegant, delicious cake that I then topped with fresh flowers! So beautiful I hated to have to cut it! So glad I did, it was delish! Everyone I have sent there is delighted with the outcome! The make some scrumptious pastries too, petit fours, napoleans and the like, and their gingersnaps, OMG! If your just visiting or staying at a condo, purchase some to take home,the scones freeze very well! Enjoy! Tell them JOY sent you!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Streak333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our first stop on the island is always the Mosquito Cafe and this trip we discovered Patty Cakes Bakery - just across the street! Great pastries, breads and desserts. Well worth a stop to stock up if you are staying on the island or take some goodies home!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One Fantastic Bakery”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We liked everything and the dog loved the cookie bones. Macaroons dipped in chocolate especially good. The French macarons were great as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Pastries”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The most wonderful bakery but it is not cheap and they do not put prices on anything or publish prices...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kelley34HoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PattyCakes Bakery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to PattyCakes Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing