We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lousy attitude from counter servers”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of PattyCakes Bakery

PattyCakes Bakery
Ranked #1 of 7 Bakeries in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent and beautiful baked goods. Owners also own Mosquito Cafe located on 14th St, just across the street. OFFERS BAKED DOG TREATS.
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
176 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Lousy attitude from counter servers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

I was the only person in the bakery, and I had to repeat my order to the girl three times.
The bakery goods were ok. Overpriced.

I asked for directions to the pier, and the girl at the counter was clueless, and didn't try to help.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wtxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    30
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Tasty... mostly for savory.. not so much sweet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

After the cruise, we wanted to stop by here and get a treat. They did not have so many sweet treats that we were looking for... but the savory items seemed very good. What we got was tasty for sure.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nlt46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
“thank GOD they are in galveston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

I am SO glad Patty Cakes is here! I hope it's here to stay forever!!! They have THE best desserty goodies. IMH, they are the best bakery on the island! My personal fave is the Holy Cow. Try it, you'll understand.

Oh and, it's all (thankfully) reasonably priced, so that a humble grad student such as myself, can go and gorge her little heart out after a long hard day in lab.

love,
PattyCakes Addict

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holdthisforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
510 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Tasty treats for a great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Hubby and I saw a sign for Patty Cakes while having lunch at the Mosquito Cafe-next door. We walked over and man did these dessert and breads look and smell wonderful! We got a "Holy Cow", chocolate overload cupcake, chocolate chip cookie and pineapple coconut pecan bar all wrapped to go. The Holy Cow is a mini layer cake with 2 thin vanilla cakes with a light mocha cream in the middle and on the sides rolled in crushed oreos and topped with chocolate icing-yeah take that all in for a minute and you understand the name! It totally lived up to the name!! The chocolate cupcake is an icing lovers dream but I must admit, not my favorite chocolate cupcake. The cookie was very good. The pineapple coconut pecan bar was rich and buttery, not too sweet but so tasy-would have been perfect with a hot tea or coffee but it was still quite good with a diet coke heading north on I 45! All of our treats totalled less than $10-I was expecting $15-20 so this was a wonderful surprise! They do special orders and their bread looked quite wonderful. Sadly we were on our way out of town but next time, we'll pick up some lovely bread for a picnic lunch! They also had a small selection of premade sandwiches, salads and soups which I thought was quite handy and they did coffee's, too!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachbumAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Breads are delicious; deserts are to die for. Scones are decadent!!!
Nice to have a great bakery across the street from the great Mosquito Cafe.
Steve, Patricia and family are doing a great job keeping us all well fed on the island.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3530cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PattyCakes Bakery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to PattyCakes Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing