We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal All the Way Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The West End Restaurant & Sandbar

The West End Restaurant & Sandbar
Ranked #103 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenal All the Way Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

A little bit of a hidden gem, but started the evening off with a few drinks in the sand bar, for some reason everyone seemed like they were best friends and were welcoming. Enjoyed the band until being seated upstairs in the dinging room. Since my family and I were a little on the late side, I belive we were the last ones sat for the evening. The waiter was extremely attentive and made excellent suggestions, The crab cakes were out of this world, by far the best I have ever had and the entree was excellent as well. I had the Surf and Turf and everything was prepared perfectly. The chef (Chef Nicholas) even came out after the meal to check on us and was an excellent host all the way around. Worth every penny. Will be back many times in the future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hailey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    44
    11
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“West End”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We go to the West End bar and restaurant all year long. A few recommendations to the owner that can make your place even better. You all need bar food, it's Texas we love our chip and guac on a summer night with a cold beer. 3-4 bar food items would be enough.

Please please up grade your bread and butter, it screams sysco.

Best Crab Cakes on the Island never ever change that! The Red Fish Tacos and fried pickles are so delic!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newtonSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Showed up around 6 on a Wednesday night and not a person in the place. We got seated and it kept getting better. Portions were great, service attentive, (fried pickle app., delicious) and of course the seafood was excellent. Not cheap but worth it. Highly recommend it and worth the dollars.(by the time we left around 7:15 it was 3/4's full; keeping in mind they probably have 20 tables). The other thing is you can entre it which will run you around $25 or they do have sandwiches, etc for 8 to 10. Thumbs up !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, under serviced and pretentious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The food was pretty good, but not worth the prices they were charging. Also took over 45 minutes to get our food after ordering, but we should have known that after it took 10 minutes for a waiter to acknowledge our existence. Overall it was kind of a ripoff.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukrainetrain52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Small , plain.. but .. Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a small local place within the Sea Aisle community, on the bay side.

The eating area is probably around 1000 sq ft; fairly small. On a Saturday, was fairly noise ( it was full ).

That all being said, my Snapper ( pecan crusted with crab topping ) was to die for. Excellent. Wife's chicken entree was excellent. Service wasn't perfect, but I'll be back. There is also a small outside area you can eat at, as well as the Sandbar ( limited menu ) below which had someone playing .

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rickkcir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The West End Restaurant & Sandbar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Jamaica Beach, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The West End Restaurant & Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing