We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great location, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

As a resident of Houston, TX and a life long visitor to Galveston, I can highly recommend this hotel for location. Parking is ok, although I was harassed by a homeless person -when mentioned to front desk, they were quick to shoo the person away and threaten to call police. Room is clean and the beds are one of the best I've slept in, the corners of the room were covered in cobwebs and dust, and I found a necklace -which leads one to believe housekeeping isn't doing much of a job. Breakfast was terrible. Cheap styrofoam -in a city that promotes "Clean Green & Pristine" as well as recycling. The food wasn't impressive unless you were 3, or didn't care about what you eat. Basket full of cream cheese and not a bagel in sight, and a gross vat of watery yougrt that was not appetizing at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMcCallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisgalveston, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear McCallister, Thank you for taking the time to post the response. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    100
    81
    55
    84
See reviews for
203
122
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The first day of our stay, Housekeeping ignored making up 1 bed, washing coffee pot and cleaning bath. Night clerk Malcom was informed that night, he said he would take care of it and wrote it down on book for the morning manager. Second day after being gone all day, we came back and this time housekeeping ignored the room completely!! everything was just as I had left it: no clean towels, trash cans full, beds unmade, dirty coffee pot, floors with beach sand. Malcom, again, said it was the manager's fault. He said he was the middleman and maids were gone, gave me towels and told me he would give me bedding so that I could make up my own beds. I asked to be moved to a clean room. He said there were none. That was a lie, I went online, checked and there was at least one room same rate as minefor that night. I CAN NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL BASED ON THIS REAL BAD, BAD EXPERIENCE!

Room Tip: Room was okay, just make sure that you tell the manager that morning before you leave to make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisgalveston, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Tania, Thank you for taking the time to post the response. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Well kept motel and well situated to the beach, dining, and shopping. The Country Inn is on the Wall close to the Pleasure Pier. With our room on the east side the lights of the pier were fun to see. The free breakfast is OK, The young lady at the desk was not very knowlegable about the Galveston area and what attractions to see, but I guess maybe that is not her job. We had a very nice room, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for an east side room on one of the upper floors. Be sure that if you park in the lot that all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0neE3404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We loved to stay at country inn and suites close to the pleasure pier in Galveston.Close to everything , resturants, pier and rooms have view of the gulf. The country inn had all the amenities of a home with the luxury of daily maid service. Staff very friendly and greeted us with a smile everytime . Perfect! we are coming back again,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to galveston last weekend and stayed at country inn . Staff was very friendly, they told us about the resturants nearby. We ate at Spot and went to Pleasure Pier. Enjoyed this gateaway with my kids and family.

Room Tip: rooms on 5th floor have a beautiful view, ask for a room on pleasure pier side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The employees were awesome and the service as well we hope to come back soon!!! As soon as we walked in I was greeted by an awesome staff. The team was very helpful. The rooms were nice and clean. The pool was lovely although I was at the beach side most of the time of my vacation I really would like to.come back and a

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daddylove2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Upon my arrival I was welcomed with a smile. I believe the ladies name was Eva that checked us in. She was very respectful and knowledgeable. The rest of the staff was great. Room was clean and comfortable like I was at home. Really enjoyed ourselves and will gladly stay at your establishment again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cm37ar38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.6 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#34 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Address: 2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-7742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Carlson, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing