We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Overall Satisfied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 10%
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Galveston
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall Satisfied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Not the softest bed or most fluffy pillows I've ever slept on but that's minor stuff. The trade off for the view and location right next to pleasure pier (has rides and games) on the beachfront definitely made my money's worth. Overall a satisfying stay! Price was a bit high but it was spring break so that was expected. Hope this helps good luck on your hotel searching.

Room Tip: The room we had was 501 and it had the best view of the beach and pier. Any room number in the low 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bsweeney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    97
    78
    52
    80
See reviews for
193
115
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Spring Break with kids and grandkids because it had an indoor pool. There is little to no parking at this hotel. Many cars end up doulbe parked overnight. Check in was fast and staff was friendly. Room was a good size and enjoyed the balcony view. Carpet was stained and room had a funny smell. Location is great! Near the seawall and close to the Galveston Pleasure Pier. Indoor pool was of medium size and got crowded with more than 5-6 families. Indoor pool does not mean heated. Pool water was cold, though whirpool provided some time to warm up. Due to Spring Break, we paid too much for the quality of the hotel. We would stay here again if it had a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Recommend a suite with a seperate bedroom if traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeisureDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked through the hotel direct and found it to be a very nice hotel.. we have stayed in other Country Inn's (in Minn.) and was hoping it would be as nice. It was!! The hotel was practically on Seawall Blvd. (which is where we wanted to be) and the King bedroom suite was large and very clean; the balcony was a plus. We enjoyed a good view of the ocean. The location was great, close to the strand and was sandwiched between lots of good restaurants and other fine hotels along Seawall Blvd. The staff was great and helpful....one in particular, Ana was very friendly, as was Eva. We will stay there again.....did I mention the rates were great!?

Room Tip: We prefer King suites because we found them to be larger with more comfortable seating. (Recliners o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenie599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed in Room 408 for one night and found women's panties in the closet, discarded contact lens prescription package on floor as well as popcorn. Linens were soiled. The room had obviously not been cleaned. The Front Desk Agent expressed her regrets but when in contact with the GM she had little concern of our complaint even after pictures were provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisgalveston, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.I do apologize that you encountered this problem. I want to thank you for your valuable comments;We have addressed the problem, thank you again. We do hope you will stay with Country Inn & Suites again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for one night after our cruise. The hotel was very clean and we found the staff friendly. Not far from Pleasure Pier where you can find a hop on hop off tour bus. Taxi to cruise terminal was around $10. Would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a nice hotel - clean and quite new. It is not in a very good part of town but it is close to the beach and Pleasure Pier. We got a deal that included parking for the week while we were on our cruise and paid a little extra for the shuttle to an from the cruise terminal. A bit further West and South there is an area which is much nicer with lots of hotels and that would probably be a better place to stay if prices are about the same. However, if Country Inn and Suites is offering a good deal, it is also a good choice.

We did have some trouble about getting a roll away bed. We requested one with our reservation but when we arrived quite late, it was not in the room. The front desk person was all alone and unable to leave the desk to get one for us - or so she claimed. It seems like maybe someone else could have gotten it? Anyway, if you need a roll away I suggest calling a few hours before your arrival to make sure it is ready and waiting when you get there.

Go early to breakfast if you can manage it. There is not a lot of room and they do run out of table space.

Room Tip: We had a view of Pleasure Pier - fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellevuetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed on the 2nd floor with a view of Pleasure Pier which has a very large ferris wheel which has changing colors. There is a small bar between the hotel and the ocean so your view is a bit obstructed by the roof of the bar if you are on the first or second floor. Our room was clean and the the hallway smelled clean. We had a king sized bed with a desk, microwave and fridge and a wall mounted flat screen tv all for about sixty dollars (off season rates). We also liked that there were plenty of pillows. Our only criticism was the limited tv channels.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you want an unobstructed view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.6 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#34 of 50 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Address: 2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Carlson, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing