We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Bistro LeCroy - CLOSED

Bistro LeCroy
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Seabrook, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Waiter was great. Great personality. Service was very slow. Gumbo lacked much seafood, mostly roux; Oysters appeared to be frozen with batter. Batter separated when eating revealing small swiveled oysters and they were tough. Will not go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a gem.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stumbled in to this historic little Bisstro. Had a fabulous dining experience. Best shrimp and grits I have ever had!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, great food”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stumbled across this place hunting for something less busy and more personal. Wow, we found it. They knew how to cook fresh seafood!! The attentive bartender was perfect. The owner treated us like we were longtime friends, though we had just meet. The place was sadly not busy which was confusing because the whole experience was perfect. People don't know what they are missing. The place looks very plain from the outside but don't let that fool you, it is some of the best food and service in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EvilleMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cajun Family Food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Real Cajun food from a real Cajun family with foodie history. Go there and enjoy. The prices are reasonable and service outstanding and the owners are like family to their guests.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This restaurant is in the popular Strand area of Galveston, but I have passed it up many times on my numerous visits to the island. I had the pleasure of going there twice in one day last week and by the time I had my final mimosa at Le Croy, I swore to never eat anywhere else when I was on the island again. The building is charming and on the historic registry. The owners have taken care to preserve it's vintage charm, complete with original barber stripes painted on the old brick.

Food and drinks are made fresh with good ingredients and the pride they take in their food is obvious. I can not understate the importance of a properly cooked egg and a well balanced cocktail. Tommy and Barbara are excellent hosts and it is no surprise that many people that came to Le Croy during my visit were greeted by name.

I regret not finding this gem in Galveston sooner, do not repeat my mistake!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro LeCroy also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing