We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closes earlier than advertised” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salsa's

Salsa's
Ranked #23 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in January 1998 by Jorge and Antonio Oyervides and a friend, Frank Diaz, Salsas Mexican & Seafood Restaurant is their first restaurant, though the three have been in the restaurant business for more than 24 years. Salsas is located at 4604 Seawall Boulevard - and features plenty of parking, a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine.Our fine Mexican restaurant is bright, clean and colorful. Each table features two tantalizingly-different salsas, along with crispy, light tortilla chips. The menu offers traditional Mexican dishes like chicken or beef fajitas, enchiladas and burritos, plus some not-so-traditional platters such as seafood with a south-of-the-border flair. We invite you to savor your favorite dish and enjoy our frothy, refreshing margaritas. Happy Hour is Monday thru Friday from 3pm to 7pm. Salsas offers a daily Lunch Special from 11am to 3pm Monday thru Friday. Pickup orders are welcomed; simply call ahead. We look forward to serving your entire family!Salsa's Mexican Restaurant offers a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine. Enjoy our colorful, delicious Mexican food along with a frothy, refreshing margarita.
maxxboy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Closes earlier than advertised”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Last night (9/10/13) I decided to check out Salsa's for a late dinner. It was a toss up between it and Tortuga Mexican Kitchen. I looked online and saw Salsa's was open until 10PM. I got there at 9:20PM, saw people inside eating, but when I walked in there was a sign saying they were closed. A waiter came up and said the same thing. I told him I looked online and it said they closed at 10PM. He apologized and said "we have to fix that". Went to Tortuga Mexican Kitchen instead and has a very delicious meal. Maybe this was a blessing in disguise!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I'm sorry that we were unable to serve you, Max. After reading your comments, it is apparent that the managers were not following the opreeating hours on our website. The problem has been taken care of. That said, I know that we have what it takes to show you a fabulous meal, and I hope you'll give us another chance to do that next time you're in Galveston. After all, our award-winning margaritas are some of the best in town!

Regards,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    198
    95
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you want consistancy, this is the place. Been going here for at least 20 years and the first meal is just as good a the last. Mexican and seafood.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skippy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks so much, Skippy! We couldn't be happier to hear how much you love coming here for good eats and good times. Here's to another delicious 20 years!

Best,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chips and Salsa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went for a late lunch. I've been away from Texas for a while and I loved the chips and salsa served immediately at the table, plus they include a guacamole dip! Yum!! I also had the queso sauce, most excellent. Keep in mind that I live in a state that does not do mexican food like Texas. So it was great. We shared some chicken fajitas that we also very good! Home made tortilla's something I don't get at the mexican restaurants at home. They make a great Margaretta too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, Judy! We're happy to have satisfied your cravings for authentic Mexican fare. It can be one of the hardest things to leave behind! It sounds as though your meal was exceptional on all counts. Feel free to let us know if there's anything we could improve upon in the future. Your feedback is important to us! In the meantime, we hope you'll think of us again the next time you're in Galveston.

Regards,

Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worst service and management ever !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a wedding recpetion rented out back room for 250$ rented it out and they still sat people that werent in the party in the back room with screaming cying kids in our back room . Then there male staff were so disrespectful that every time one of our girls got up from back room to walk to the restroom they would point laugh wistle at our ladies made them all feel very uncomfortable we tell them to all have some respect and act grown act like theve seen a women befor .. So ok the 5 minutes later the manager some guy and ladie walk back there to kick us out not say anything to the disrespectful servers but kick us out of the restraunt and let me say there was at least 20 people we all hadent ordered yet prob had a nice 200$ dollar drinking tab one check too and all 20 was about to order food so after we all saw the terrible management and kicking one of us out beacusing there druling dog servers we all left said forgret them and went els where to eat and drink all 20 will not be back we live in galveston . What a way to choose your staff over you valued customers. Bad rep salsa terrible and very disapointed all customers should know this . And. There staff should be fired dont take your girlfriend or you daughters or chirldren there . And quote the male staff there was 2 o them and they all were most likely in there 30 or 40 years old prob had daughters of there own no respect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattlankford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“There have got be better Mexican places on the Island!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went there for lunch, but not at prime time but a little after 1PM. Service was slow and it was difficult to get the servers attention. We finally asked the guy bussing tables to get our servers to return to the table, he was more attentive than our waiter.

The servings were very large but not tasty. The salsa was one of the most unusual I have ever had. I am not sure what it had in it, I guess it was tomato sauce since seemed to have been puréed together.

Prices were not bad for the quantity but was expensive for the taste and quality.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cuzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It's surprising to learn of your disappointment with our salsa. Most of our guests love it, but we'll definitely look into this further. That said, we must apologize for your spotty service, and we know we can do better. Please let us know if you have any further feedback, and we hope you'll give us another chance to show you a five-star meal.

Regards,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Salsa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing