We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service because it was so packed, Cool temp, Great salsa”
Review of Salsa's

Salsa's
Ranked #25 of 319 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Opened in January 1998 by Jorge and Antonio Oyervides and a friend, Frank Diaz, Salsas Mexican & Seafood Restaurant is their first restaurant, though the three have been in the restaurant business for more than 24 years. Salsas is located at 4604 Seawall Boulevard - and features plenty of parking, a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine.Our fine Mexican restaurant is bright, clean and colorful. Each table features two tantalizingly-different salsas, along with crispy, light tortilla chips. The menu offers traditional Mexican dishes like chicken or beef fajitas, enchiladas and burritos, plus some not-so-traditional platters such as seafood with a south-of-the-border flair. We invite you to savor your favorite dish and enjoy our frothy, refreshing margaritas. Happy Hour is Monday thru Friday from 3pm to 7pm. Salsas offers a daily Lunch Special from 11am to 3pm Monday thru Friday. Pickup orders are welcomed; simply call ahead. We look forward to serving your entire family!Salsa's Mexican Restaurant offers a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine. Enjoy our colorful, delicious Mexican food along with a frothy, refreshing margarita.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Took a little while for us to get drinks and place our orders. It was nice to have chips and salsa when we were seating, but it was spicy and we didn't have drinks. Husband got the shrimp bacon and I got the fish tacos, great food. Lots of fans and we were able to sit by the big bay windows and see the ocean. I would come again, just a little slow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ccalicutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

You just can't beat a view like ours! While we truly appreciate your patience, we wish that we had been able to get your drinks out faster. We'll be sure to remind our team to be attentive, no matter how busy we are. That said, it sounds like you and your husband had a great time with us, and we're thrilled to hear it. Hope to have you back next time you're in Galveston!

Regards,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 573 of 735 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a really good, down home, good food Tex-Mex restaurant. They serve hot chips and 2 salsas before you order. The red brown sauce savory and not too salty, the green sauce is very spicy guacamole and delicious. I had taco plate with rice and beans, and I tasted DH plate of
Tamales, all very good. We usually order a house Margarita, no salt, on ice with Mexican food, but I must say, this one was a winner, tastier than most. The prices were reasonable, decor was
Charming, right on Seawall. You won't go wrong here. Good Eats.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CRUISEREADER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

You just can't beat those margaritas! We're thrilled that you loved every sip of ours, and that our dishes won you over as well. Thanks for stopping by. Come back and see us next time you're on the Island!

Cheers,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have ate here many times, very reasonably priced, good food and lots of choices. We will be back again!

Thank melissa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you very much, Melissa! We'll see you next time you're in Galveston!

Cheers,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went here after our first two choices were closed for the day. After a 30 minute wait, our waiter sat us doiwn and delivered some yummy fresh chips and salsa. At least 15 minutes had passed and he finally came back for our order and to refill our tea. While waiting for our dinner, a live mexican band cruised around the restaraunt singing to patrons. That was cool. When our meals arrived, my wife realized she didn't get the burrito she had ordered. Eventually, our waiter made his way back to us so we could ask for the right burrito. The waiter apologized and said the servers accidentally switched the burrito's with another table. They made her another one, but by now we were bored of the restaraunt and just wanted to head back to the hotel. We got a to go bag and left.

The prices were fair, food was ok, and the service just ok. The leftovers were not really worth eating afterwards, so we ended up tossing the burrito in the garbage.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

No matter how busy we are, we should always make time to check up on our guests. It appears that our time management was off, and we apologize for failing to come back to your table in a more timely manner. This is disappointing, so we'll be sure to talk to our entire team about this right away. Thanks for letting us know about this, Greg. We hope you'll give us another shot next time you're in town.

All the best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We looked for good Mexican food in Galveston and found it at Salsa's. The entrees are well-priced, the menu is large, and the service is excellent. All the staff works well together to deliver the best service to the customer.,

The pre-meal chips are made on site and are fresh and tasty. They are served with both a red chili sauce and an avocado sauce (not quite guacamole). The meals are ample, the main course coming with the obligatory servings of refried beans and Spanish rice. I sampled their beer selection with my favorite - Cerveza Bohemia - which is not always widely available.

The restaurant is located on Seawall Blvd. with good views from the street-facing windows. It is large and accommodates many patrons, but is broken into different areas for a smaller feeling.
Our food service was very swift.

The only negative that I would point out is the meat portions of our two meals - a beef chimichanga and chicken enchiladas con mole. In both cases, the meat was precooked pieces cut into cubic chunks. This is not how the beef or chicken should be - it should be shredded into long thin strips so that it absorbs the flavor of the spices. This did detract from the taste of our two entrees,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CostaRicaBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Between a great beer, fresh salsas and swift service, we're so glad that we were able to welcome you to Galveston! It sounds like you enjoyed your time with us, but we must apologize if you were disappointed with our proteins. We like to cube some of our meats, but we will certainly consider your suggestion for the future. In the meantime, thanks for the great review. We hope to have you back next time you're in town!

All the best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Salsa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing