We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Mexican food”
Review of Salsa's

Salsa's
Ranked #25 of 316 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Opened in January 1998 by Jorge and Antonio Oyervides and a friend, Frank Diaz, Salsas Mexican & Seafood Restaurant is their first restaurant, though the three have been in the restaurant business for more than 24 years. Salsas is located at 4604 Seawall Boulevard - and features plenty of parking, a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine.Our fine Mexican restaurant is bright, clean and colorful. Each table features two tantalizingly-different salsas, along with crispy, light tortilla chips. The menu offers traditional Mexican dishes like chicken or beef fajitas, enchiladas and burritos, plus some not-so-traditional platters such as seafood with a south-of-the-border flair. We invite you to savor your favorite dish and enjoy our frothy, refreshing margaritas. Happy Hour is Monday thru Friday from 3pm to 7pm. Salsas offers a daily Lunch Special from 11am to 3pm Monday thru Friday. Pickup orders are welcomed; simply call ahead. We look forward to serving your entire family!Salsa's Mexican Restaurant offers a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine. Enjoy our colorful, delicious Mexican food along with a frothy, refreshing margarita.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Large portions, great service and a fair price. Lots of chips and hot sauce at all times. Ask for a table facing the ocean. You will love this place.

Thank headraccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hot sauce, great service and a hearty meal—sounds like our idea of a good time, too! Thanks for your support. We hope to have you back again this summer!

All the best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 569 of 724 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We ate here on Saturday afternoon. The hostess greeted us with a smile and sat us right away. The atmosphere was very upbeat. The salsas, both green & red and fresh chips were a delicious way to start an excellent meal. The margaritas were great!! We will be back for sure!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tedlyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

You're right—salsas this good deserve a shout-out! We're glad that you enjoyed both our ritas and your entrees, too. Thank you! Come back and see us next time you're in Galveston.

All the best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I remember the day when you could get $2 margaritas here - they are a bit more, but still inexpensive. Food is always good - we stop by at least once a trip

Thank HEF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

It's always nice to receive such high praise from someone who's been with us since the beginning! Thanks for making us a part of your trips to Galveston. Hope to see you soon!

Cheers,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went while visiting the island. Waiter greeted us right away and got lots of chips and salsa but that was the best thing. Food was pretty good but took way too long based on the crowd that night. Waiter didn't even have time to take our food up when we ordered sopapillas. Brought honey in packets? Really? Half of them were burnt and the rest were pretty bad anyway. Entire dinner took TOO long. Obviously need more help and either make them better or don't sell the sopapillas at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DK1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Although we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your entree and our salsas, we wish that our sopapillas had left you with a better impression. We pride ourselves on every dish we serve, but your description of this dessert is unacceptable and embarrassing. We apologize, and we know that we can do better. Thank you for bringing this to our attention—we'll discuss your comments with our kitchen immediately.

Best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We ate here on Wednesday night and right when we walked in we were greeted with a hello and very friendly service. The hostess guided us to our table and we walked right past a live mariachi band who played "La Bamba", "Macarena", and even the Eagles' "Hotel California!" We had a large party-6 people and it was no problem for the waitress to get our drinks and orders correct. I had the chicken soft tacos, which were delicious! Other members of our party had enchildas, fajita tacos, fajita tostadas, and a fajita plate. Everything was great and the red and green salsa that came out with the chips was super delicious! We even went again the next night, but the waiter was not as good as the waitress the night before. We will certainly return if we are in Galveston again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank b l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Our band certainly knows how to get everyone in the spirit! It sounds like you had a fabulous time with us, and we couldn't be happier to hear that. Thanks for stopping by! We'll see you next time you're in Galveston.

Regards,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Salsa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing