We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Salsa's

Salsa's
Ranked #27 of 319 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Opened in January 1998 by Jorge and Antonio Oyervides and a friend, Frank Diaz, Salsas Mexican & Seafood Restaurant is their first restaurant, though the three have been in the restaurant business for more than 24 years. Salsas is located at 4604 Seawall Boulevard - and features plenty of parking, a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine.Our fine Mexican restaurant is bright, clean and colorful. Each table features two tantalizingly-different salsas, along with crispy, light tortilla chips. The menu offers traditional Mexican dishes like chicken or beef fajitas, enchiladas and burritos, plus some not-so-traditional platters such as seafood with a south-of-the-border flair. We invite you to savor your favorite dish and enjoy our frothy, refreshing margaritas. Happy Hour is Monday thru Friday from 3pm to 7pm. Salsas offers a daily Lunch Special from 11am to 3pm Monday thru Friday. Pickup orders are welcomed; simply call ahead. We look forward to serving your entire family!Salsa's Mexican Restaurant offers a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine. Enjoy our colorful, delicious Mexican food along with a frothy, refreshing margarita.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The best food we had in Galveston! All of them are tasty. We had beef fajitas, tilapia del mar, and grilled shrimp. Fast service, friendliest staff you will find. Their margaritas are not big in size, but it is STRONG! You only need half of your normal drinking amount to get a buzz. Tip: Weekdays 11am-7pm is happy hour with margaritas only 3 bucks per glass.

Thank noDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

There's nothing more gratifying than being deemed "the best" at your craft. From our bodacious margs to our authentic Mexican dishes and our friendly service, we're so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you! Come back and see us next time you're on the Island.

Cheers,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 589 of 732 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Basic Mexican food, but it was good. The server was very friendly and knowledgable. Also very attentive, didn't have to wait for refills on chips or drinks. Price was right too.

Thank SouthDakotaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

You hit the nail on the head—we never like to leave a water glass empty! From our service to your dish, we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for the great review! Come back and see us next time you're in The Lone Star State.

Cheers,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is ok mexican food. Nothing to write home about. The server we had was very good though. The margaritas that we had were good though.

Thank gjscollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Although we're glad you enjoyed your margarita and our service, it's disappointing that your meal didn't leave you with the same feeling. We'd like to know more about that so we can take the necessary steps to improve. What did you order? Don't hesitate to let us know—we're always open to suggestions! Until then, thanks for your feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to wow you next time you're on the Island.

All the best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Flavorless food, just okay wait staff. There are too many other options for Mexican food to be moderate in any category. I won't go back.

Thank mobybich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

I'm very sorry to learn of your disappointment. As native Texans and lovers of authentic Mexican food, mediocrity simply isn't good enough for us. I'd like to know more about this so we may take the necessary steps to improve. What did you order? Let me know if you'd like to talk about this further—we take all of our guests' feedback into consideration, and yours is no different. Until then, thanks for your candor. I hope to hear from you soon.

Best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The food and service were excellent! They have a large variety of selection of Mexican food, and the food is reall good! The waitress was super attentive!! Their margaritas are to kill for! I had 3 margaritas in different flavors, and I was really impressed how good they were. We had a great time there!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

There's no better way to ring in the New Year than with a margarita in hand! Thanks for making us a part of your celebration, April. Stop by and see us next time you're on the Island!

Cheers,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Salsa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing