We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value lunch special”
Review of Salsa's

Salsa's
Ranked #26 of 314 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Opened in January 1998 by Jorge and Antonio Oyervides and a friend, Frank Diaz, Salsas Mexican & Seafood Restaurant is their first restaurant, though the three have been in the restaurant business for more than 24 years. Salsas is located at 4604 Seawall Boulevard - and features plenty of parking, a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine.Our fine Mexican restaurant is bright, clean and colorful. Each table features two tantalizingly-different salsas, along with crispy, light tortilla chips. The menu offers traditional Mexican dishes like chicken or beef fajitas, enchiladas and burritos, plus some not-so-traditional platters such as seafood with a south-of-the-border flair. We invite you to savor your favorite dish and enjoy our frothy, refreshing margaritas. Happy Hour is Monday thru Friday from 3pm to 7pm. Salsas offers a daily Lunch Special from 11am to 3pm Monday thru Friday. Pickup orders are welcomed; simply call ahead. We look forward to serving your entire family!Salsa's Mexican Restaurant offers a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine. Enjoy our colorful, delicious Mexican food along with a frothy, refreshing margarita.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value lunch special”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went hear while in Galveston over Christmas and was pleasantly surprised by the lunch special - a bowl of tortilla soup and a chicken fajita burrito for less than $10. Soup was good (prefer my own to be honest) and the burrito was very tasty. Very good margaritas as well. Service was pleasant and efficient. The overall experience was very good and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJones404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Sounds like an excellent lunch! Thanks for joining us over the holidays. We'd love to have you back next time you're on the Island!

Warm regards,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    210
    103
    49
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esterhazy, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Marguaritas and Tortilla Chips/Salsa”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited Salsa's with a large group during convention in January. The marguaritas were wonderful and the tortilla chips with the two kinds of salsa were the best. Everyone really liked the green salsa. The food and service were great, although after eating the tortilla chips and salsa, many of us could not finish our meals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Cold margaritas, spicy salsa and chips—we can't think of a better combination! Thanks for making us a part of your trip to Texas, Sandy. We'd love to welcome you back next time you're in town!

Cheers,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food for a reasonable price”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This place was walking distance from the hotel I was at and service was good. Had a combination platter to try a few different items and the food was good. The price was cheap, this was the fullest I was all weak and for the cheapest price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
There's nothing better than a delicious, authentic Mexican feast—accept a delicious, authentic Mexican feast within walking distance! Thanks for giving us a try, and for the kind words. Come back and see us next time you're in town, Will!

Best wishes,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting fajita”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch, enjoyed the view of the gulf of mexico, restroom was clean, server very polite, chips crisp, green & red salsa had a good taste & body.
Fajita was served sizzling too much onion, spanish rice too greasy.but the charro beans delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for joining us for lunch, David. It sounds like our fajitas disappointed you, and we're sorry to hear that. While onion and peppers are a vital component to good fajitas, we'd never want them to overwhelm the meat. We'll be more careful of this next time, so thanks for bringing this to our attention. That said, we are thrilled that you enjoyed our views and service, and we hope you'll give us another opportunity to wow you. We know we have what it takes to show you a 5-star experience!

All the best,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We both had the Veggie Enchiladas; they were delicious. The place is clean and pleasant, and there is nice view of the water. The waiters were efficient and friendly. We would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Veggie enchiladas, friendly service and an unbeatable view—sounds like a fabulous time! Thanks for reviewing us, Pam. Looking forward to having you back!

Cheers,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Salsa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing