We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to be crooked in a restaurant...”
Review of Salsa's

Salsa's
Ranked #26 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in January 1998 by Jorge and Antonio Oyervides and a friend, Frank Diaz, Salsas Mexican & Seafood Restaurant is their first restaurant, though the three have been in the restaurant business for more than 24 years. Salsas is located at 4604 Seawall Boulevard - and features plenty of parking, a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine.Our fine Mexican restaurant is bright, clean and colorful. Each table features two tantalizingly-different salsas, along with crispy, light tortilla chips. The menu offers traditional Mexican dishes like chicken or beef fajitas, enchiladas and burritos, plus some not-so-traditional platters such as seafood with a south-of-the-border flair. We invite you to savor your favorite dish and enjoy our frothy, refreshing margaritas. Happy Hour is Monday thru Friday from 3pm to 7pm. Salsas offers a daily Lunch Special from 11am to 3pm Monday thru Friday. Pickup orders are welcomed; simply call ahead. We look forward to serving your entire family!Salsa's Mexican Restaurant offers a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine. Enjoy our colorful, delicious Mexican food along with a frothy, refreshing margarita.
Pau, France
1 review
“How to be crooked in a restaurant...”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Food and services where very good until they brought the bill....
We had some Tequila's shots between friends and nobody was expecting to see a price like that for a tequila's shot! 45$/shot! (they charge us they're most expansive tequila instead of the standard one at 7 $/shot without informing us!
We were 14 peoples from 9 different countries and all of us were shocked by what they did!
Crook, crook, crook!

Thierry, France

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank titoudubearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I am the owner and I was informed that very night of this situation. It was a big top table with 14 people and one person stated that he was paying the bill, so the other people at the other end of the table asked for the most expensive tequila we had and started ordering shots for everybody. We would not have gave the most expensive tequila to a table if the table did not order it. We have been in business here in Galveston for 15 years and this is the first time we had anything like this happen. It is very unfortunate that this situation occurred but I did get with the staff and made sure that they make a better effort to inform the person that is paying the bill of what is being ordered. Its a fine line about informing people of this because sometimes they get offended. I do apologize for this incident but we are not crooks as you stated. The table ordered the drinks and were charged for the drinks, we did not steal anything from anybody. Again, I do apologize for this incident if you were not aware of what your party was ordering at the time.

Regards,
Frank / Owner

Best,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    202
    98
    46
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The service was great despite the older lady hostess, she said enjoy your meal with a scowl.

The chicken taco salad was good, the steak fajitas were less than good. Even if I paid less for it, I would have been disappointed.

The atmosphere was great and maybe it was an off night on the steak but I don't have the money to give it another try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carriehowser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks for stopping by, Carrie. While we're happy to hear that your chicken taco salad was a delectable treat, it's disappointing that you didn't feel the same way about our steak fajitas. We don't typically receive complaints about them, but I'll be sure to discuss this with our kitchen. Thank you for letting me know. We hope you'll give us another chance next time you're in town.

Best,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Prices are reasonable, food always fresh and great drinks. The plates are all good here. The service is outstanding.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AustinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you! We'd love to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Margarita”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food was pretty much your standard Tex-Mex. My husband had the chipotle enchiladas which he said was a nice change. The margaritas were very good and the time at which we were there they were under $5.00 made them that much better!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
You can't be our 'Ritas! Thank you for giving us a try. We'd love to have you back soon!

Cheers,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Terrible Mexican food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a group of about 30 meet here for dinner. They sat the tables in an odd configuration... "L" shaped....so some of us had to sit with our backs to each other. They claim to have the best Margarita....It was terrible. I didn't even drink mine. The food is just terrible. We eat Mexican at least once a week in N. Texas....I would not reccomend this place at all.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SRVFAN4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I'm sorry to hear about this. We would never want our guests to feel as if they were not included in the larger group. After reading your comments, I will be happy to revise our seating arrangement. I'm surprised that you were unimpressed with your Margarita as well — we do believe that ours are the best on the Island, so this is quite troubling. Rest assured that this will be taken into consideration as well.

It's disappointing that we were unable to show you a better time, and we'd like to come to a resolution for you as soon as possible. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to discuss this further. That said, the feedback you have provided will certainly allow us to prevent these issues for our future guests. Thank you for leaving it.

Best,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Salsa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing