We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Mexican food”
Review of Salsa's

Salsa's
Ranked #26 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in January 1998 by Jorge and Antonio Oyervides and a friend, Frank Diaz, Salsas Mexican & Seafood Restaurant is their first restaurant, though the three have been in the restaurant business for more than 24 years. Salsas is located at 4604 Seawall Boulevard - and features plenty of parking, a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine.Our fine Mexican restaurant is bright, clean and colorful. Each table features two tantalizingly-different salsas, along with crispy, light tortilla chips. The menu offers traditional Mexican dishes like chicken or beef fajitas, enchiladas and burritos, plus some not-so-traditional platters such as seafood with a south-of-the-border flair. We invite you to savor your favorite dish and enjoy our frothy, refreshing margaritas. Happy Hour is Monday thru Friday from 3pm to 7pm. Salsas offers a daily Lunch Special from 11am to 3pm Monday thru Friday. Pickup orders are welcomed; simply call ahead. We look forward to serving your entire family!Salsa's Mexican Restaurant offers a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine. Enjoy our colorful, delicious Mexican food along with a frothy, refreshing margarita.
DFW
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Terrible Mexican food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a group of about 30 meet here for dinner. They sat the tables in an odd configuration... "L" shaped....so some of us had to sit with our backs to each other. They claim to have the best Margarita....It was terrible. I didn't even drink mine. The food is just terrible. We eat Mexican at least once a week in N. Texas....I would not reccomend this place at all.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SRVFAN4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I'm sorry to hear about this. We would never want our guests to feel as if they were not included in the larger group. After reading your comments, I will be happy to revise our seating arrangement. I'm surprised that you were unimpressed with your Margarita as well — we do believe that ours are the best on the Island, so this is quite troubling. Rest assured that this will be taken into consideration as well.

It's disappointing that we were unable to show you a better time, and we'd like to come to a resolution for you as soon as possible. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to discuss this further. That said, the feedback you have provided will certainly allow us to prevent these issues for our future guests. Thank you for leaving it.

Best,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    202
    98
    46
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toody703
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“this is a very good mexican restuarant”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The prices here are reasonable and the food is awesome if you like Mexican. You get ample enough food to share plates.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank toody703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
It doesn't get better than this! Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Cheers,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great service and interesting entree....”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had dinner tonight at this restaurant. After the hostess seeming unhappy with our not wanting to be seated in the bar and took us all the way through the restaurant to a large room w/ a very large party (a bit noisier than other locations), things started looking up. Our waiter was appropriately attentive and dinner quite good. We split the Nuevo Leon Caramones which was unique and very good. The green salsa was also especially good. We were seated at a window table with a nice view of the beach. The party was not overly noisy so after a somewhat questionable start, we had a great experience. We would return...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MZC-Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
You really did have a fabulous view! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the Nuevo Leon Camarones — the bacon really adds the perfect savory, salty bite. Thank you for giving us a try, and for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't go on Mariachi Nights!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Salsa's has good Mexican food for a fair price. It's not incredible but it's certainly good enough to come back for. I live on the island and it is my "go to" Mexican restaurant. My biggest issue is their Mariachi Nights Wednesday through Sunday. If the Mariachis are playing you have no hope of carrying on a conversation with your friend. If you have kids maybe they will enjoy seeing them perform but otherwise you can look around the restaurant and see the annoyed look on everyone's face. Basically, go on Monday or Tuesday for good Mexican food. Otherwise, don't plan to have a conversation while you are at dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prepwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
While we're glad that you've always enjoyed your dinner, I'm sorry that our Mariachi Nights haven't left a similarly positive impression. Still, we'd be happy to have you back on any other night! Thanks for the kind words. :)

Best,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, OK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average Mexican”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We ate here one night while we were on the island waiting to board the cruise ship. We love Mexican food, and we would say this was about average - not horrible, but not the best either. The chips were a little tough to our taste, but the salsa was pretty good. Our dinners were good, but just average.
Its pretty noisy in this restaurant, and that got a little annoying at times hearing other tables talking loudly, etc. It seems like the sound of talking, dishes, etc, carrys a lot in the dining room.
Ok - but we would probably try something different next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Okiegal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for giving us a try. While we're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, "average" just isn't good enough — we want every bite to wow you! I'd like to know a bit more about this so we may discover the areas in need of improvement. What did you order? Let me know, and we'll be sure to make your next visit an excellent one! Until then, thanks for your candor.

Best,
Frank, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Salsa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing