We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More things wrong than right”

Galveston Island State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$750.00*
and up
Half-Day Private Fishing Trip from Galveston
Ranked #17 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic park offering camping, hiking, bird watching, biking and swimming.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More things wrong than right”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The camp hosts were great. Very informative and helpful.
The reservation process was a mess, told by them that there was no weekend sites and that there were only sites on the bay side (1.5 miles from the beach) available.
When I got to check- in there were sites on the beach side and weekend were available.
The beach is a mess. On each side of the state park there are free public beaches that are well maintained and clean.
This state park is a long way from the attractions in Galveston.
The fee for camping is listed at $25, but also there is a use fee of $5 per person per day. Which brought the cost of my camp site up to $35 per night.

Helpful?
1 Thank jiMaryG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    105
    38
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to camp on the beach”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in travel trailer for 3 nights, very nice and quiet, short walk to the beach. $25/night. Beach was super clean and not crowded. Clean bathrooms and showers. We stayed on the north end of the island in an rv park for our first 2 nights this week for $45-50/night. Each park has same walking distance to the beach. Other parks have lights on in parking lot all night, loved the darkness at the sp. Only downside is the 10-15 min drive to the seawall for restaurants and activities.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beach Trip”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our family went out to Galveston Island State Park for the first time in August 2012. We got there early, so there weren't too many people. It was $5 per adult to enter the park, which I think was reasonable. There was a paved parking lot just across from the beach access. There are port-a-pottys, but there are also 2 large bathrooms, with enough room for all 4 of us to go in and change. The bathrooms were clean enough. There were only a few other families on the beach so there was plenty of space for all of us. There was a lot of seaweed on the beach, but I guess it's just that time of the year. The water temperature was perfect. There are outdoor showers to rinse off, but it would have been nice to have some indoors to rinse off more of the sand, especially in the hard to reach places. All in all, a great experience and we will return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nicely Updated”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have only been one other time since Hurricane Ike. Have done a great renovation job. Need more restrooms & need more camping facilities.....beach is nice, clean, and we enjoyed ourselves.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank robin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiki Island, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Beach Walks Every Saturday”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our family really enjoyed the beach walk offered every Saturday by the Friends of the park and led by volunteers from the Galveson Bay Area Master Naturalists. We got a close-up look at many critters, plants and birds that inhabit the sand, surf and seaweed that we didn't know where even there. The tour included hands-on seining (came up with a puffer fish & more) digging for clams (great fun) and beachcombing (founds some treasures for home).

The walks start at the Wildlife center and are free however anyone over 13, needs to pay a $5 fee to enter the park. We can't wait to come back and this time doe the Sunday bay walk!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Island State Park also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing