We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Elissia is great for any tall ship lover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Texas Seaport Museum

Texas Seaport Museum
Ranked #30 of 100 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum details the history of Galveston Island and features a newly restored ship that was originally built in 1877.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
637 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“The Elissia is great for any tall ship lover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

They was a high point of the trip for me..I love Tall ships have sailed on windjammers a fet times ..seeing her as she is today after seeing the film of how they found her in greece lets you know that people do care and are trying hard to keep the past alive. the fact that she's a "living" boat & sails at least once a year makes it all the better! The rests of the exibits were Ok ..told a lot about how the shrimping started & such Well worth the $8 when you consider the upkeeps of a tall ship like this one. We also watched a Pod of dolphins play & feed just off her stern..added bonus to the experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    35
    17
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Probably the single most significant historical repository on the Texas Gulf Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Toured the Ellisa..... FABULOUS!!! There were crew volunteers undergoing training while we were there, regular maintenance was being conducted and despite the fumes of paint and petroleum aerosols we enjoyed the below decks look at the living and working spaces of the crew and officers.
The Museum... What a Great little space! The history of the Ellisa was showing that Saturday and it was about 20 minutes long and moves at a pleasurable pace! The exhibits of the museum are worthy of the time taken to visit! I thoroughly enjoyed myself! My wife enjoyed the Museum as well!
The Harbor Tour that leaves out of the Seaport Museum is Really enjoyable for about an hours worth of time on the water! We had a Blast!!!

Would we do it again.... Yep! Plan to do it again next year!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Elpistolero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellant Attraction!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very interesting Museum. I took loads of pictures. There are other enjoying places to go in Galvaston!!
The sea wall is a fun place to walk and get a nice tan. I usually go fishing on the pier. I just love Galvaston TX.
I return to Galvaston everytime I visit Houston TX.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Handyguyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliday, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sea port musuem a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We decided to check the museum out post hurricane. The last time we were in Galveston they had some areas of the musuem closed. From the start we wer e impressed with the staff,, the exhibts, and doecent . the tall ship Eliisa is a must see, as is the harbor tour. Well woth the money spent!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jabberman_76366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Caney, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was fun and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

We had a good time at the museum it was very educational. The people that worked/volunteered were very helpful and informative. Above all they were nice. The movie the Great Storm was not very long but interesting and well done.

Helpful?
5 Thank the-Janu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Seaport Museum also viewed

 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Texas Seaport Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing