We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Historical Home Tour in Galveston.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Mansion

Moody Mansion
Book In Advance
$142.00*
and up
Galveston Warship and Submarine Tour
Ranked #2 of 63 Tours in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Restored to its turn of the century splendor, the 28,000 square-foot, four-story structure was completed in 1895. Today, our guests visit 20 rooms on a self-guided tour that depicts the home life of a powerful Texas family. The Moodys established one of the great American financial empires. Based on cotton, it grew to include banking, ranching, insurance and hotels. The mansion is one of the finest places to visit, a trip back in time. Touring the museum should definitely be on the top on the list for things to do on Historic Galveston Island. Tour Information: Self-guided Audio Tours: Price: Adults $12 | Students $6 | Children 6 & Under Free Self-guided audio tours from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily (last tickets sold at 4p.m.; house closes at 5 p.m.) Behind-the-scenes Tours: Exclusive docent-guided tours to areas not normally open to the public 4 p.m. Friday, Saturday and Sunday $25 per person | limited size tours | reservations highly recommended Group Tours: Call for information about discounts for groups of 8 or more Moody Mansion tour descriptions: Self-guided audio tours: Two audio tours allow you to set your own pace through the house and grounds. • The Moody Family tour features six members of the Moody family telling stories about their ancestors. This tour is also translated into Spanish. • Mary’s tour, appropriate for children and adults, is narrated by an actress portraying the late Mary Moody Northen as if she were guiding you through her home. Guided 25th Anniversary Tour: Behind-the-scenes tours celebrate the 25th anniversary of Moody Mansion’s restoration. A knowledgeable docent guides guests through areas not normally open to the public, describing Mary Moody Northen’s vision for preserving her home and sharing her collections. These tours are conducted at 4 p.m. on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Tour size is limited; reservations are highly recommended.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Another Historical Home Tour in Galveston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is another impressive home tour in the Galveston area. We enjoy seeing the historical buildings and homes in the areas we visit and the Moody Mansion certainly qualifies in the Galveston area.

Helpful?
Thank jcw0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    143
    30
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Rock
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited this mansion the day before we left on our cruise. They showed you what would be the basement and the devastation still left from the hurricane. This is a beautiful mansion. They only allow you to enter by having a tour guide. So, make sure you get there early. We were there an hour before the next tour, received our tickets and when we returned both tours for the rest of the day were sold out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GinaDunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My sister and I did the 1-2 hour tour with tour guide dujour, Claire (Pat). She is an excellent tour guide and has extensive knowledge of the home and families that lived there. We were very interested and would love to know more about the Moody family. There was a lot of walking and standing (we aren't old but neither are we young) but we would do the tour again, and recommend it to everyone. Claire was great. Really made us feel like we were there and knew the family. And the mansion is very lovely....would have loved to see it when they all lived in it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fredac746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humble
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“My Dauther loves MM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When we are in Galveston my daughter and her friends love to visit the MM. The guides are super friendly and it is nice to see a little Texas history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank texasnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“can see by tour only and it's waaay too long for what there is to see.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

You can not see the mansion unless you go on the official tour with the guide du jour. Leave
your camera in the car. Photography is not allowed.

I saw other reviews about the staff not being particularly friendly and this was our experience also. I was warned by the hotel clerk that we may encounter one of the "grouchy old docents" and indeed that's what we got. They start this hour and a half tour with a movie that is totally out of focus. When others pointed this out to the old lady giving the tour she replied in an unmistakeably haughty tone that it was because the photos were "old and blurry" and "don't you think that the people that set this up knew what they were doing?" Hello? When I pointed out to the woman that I too thought the movie was blurry and that the same printed photos in their visitor center were razor-sharp and that the adjustment was a simple turn of the objective lens she shot me a withering look that precluded any further discussion about it. Then we went into the hurricane-devastated basement which contained...nothing. Nevertheless, we stayed in there for 20 minutes while she droned on that "the kitchen table would have been here" and "probably had a room here which could have contained" etc. Then going upstairs we found some large elegant rooms with...nothing. Nothing in them save a dining room table that we were not allowed to even so much as approach. We were admonished on exactly where to stand ("don't step off the carpet!!"). The second floor had more furniture but how much was original is hard to say because the lady did not know--probably about half of it.. After an hour, we had had more than enough but
had to stay with the tour to the end, which I thought would never come. They had a couple
of snazzy old Cadillacs in the adjacent garage.

All in all, the mansion's elegant interior architectural details were well worth seeing but all could all be done in 1/2 hour and some placards to read if one needed more information. These old
structures are expensive to maintain and the admission fee is needed to help keep these places open and away from the wrecking ball but the interminable tour length to see so little
plus the not-very-friendly attitude of the staff (at least on that particular day) was a definite turn-off. Hopefully, they will see this review and perhaps--perhaps--do something about it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rock995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Mansion also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Moody Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing