We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the most part, Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Galveston. The room was clean, well stocked and smelled fresh.

The view on either side was another hotel or condos, and if you walked out of the micro balcony you could see part of the ocean.

The staff for the most part was friendly, with the male staff member being most gracious and welcoming and the female staff member being friendly, yet somewhat rude and unaccommodating.

The walls between rooms are good at maintaining a quiet environment, however, the ceilings and floors are thin. Be prepared to hear your upstairs guest tromping back and forth. This will not be a problem until after 11pm when you’re ready to call it a night, that’s the time when the tromping sounds like a booming stampede.

As far as breakfast goes – the bounty is plentiful and kept fully stocked. Just know that you get what you pay for. For the most part it consists of basic continental breakfast menu items. And then there are the eggs… “Powdered eggs!” No matter how they tried to make them taste good, they were just plain nasty. I would have been glad to pay an extra $5.00 bucks a day just for real eggs and thicker than ‘tissue paper’ bacon.

The abundant supply of coffee was a nice touch. The pool area was clean and well kept. A nice continuous supply of hot water in the rooms, and the microwave and fridge was a great-added feature.

The workout facility was nice and the parking was okay.

Overall, our visit was a very pleasant experience.

I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 345 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

A great hotel that my friends and I were very happy to stay at. The room was clean and had a balcony that faced the ocean. Breakfast was the typical hotel breakfast but worked for us. It was nice to be able to lay by the outdoor pool and soak up some sun and the hot tub was nice for me because I found the pool too cold although my friends didn't. We had a small fridge and microwave in our room which is always a good thing. The staff was friendly and helpful also.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headin4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Transport to and from the cruise ship was poorly organized and extremely slow; there were not enough transport vehicles and there was no place to sit while waiting. Coming back from the ship we had to stand outside and wait for over one hour for a vehicle. Other hotel buses came and went with no sign of the one from HI Express.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2BZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Myself and my family stayed 1 night on Saturday, April 24, 2010. We found a used condom in the bedsheets in our bed. I notified the manager who took almost a week to discuss the issue with the owner before they kindly decided to offer me 20% off another stay at their resort. I am relieved that this property was more concerned about the safety of their clients and not money. The next night we moved to the San Luis Resort and will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VIPSoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

stayed 3 nights. Did not pre book but not a problem, the receptionist went the extra mile. Breakfast good, Bed good, Location good. Pool cold, Laundry room good. All in all you cant go wrong here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Recently we stayed here for two nights and left our car park for a week, when we went on a cruise. First night front desk help was help full. 2nd night grumpy. We signed up the next day for a shuttle early to the ship. We were to be the 3rd shuttle, but 2 1/2 hours after assigned time, we finally got to the ship. We are assigned time for ship check in as we had a handicap person with us. She had to stand in a long line to check in, because we missed our quick check in with wheel chair. Front desk was know help to anyone catching shuttles. I was a priority member for Holiday Inn Express. That didn't even help to get help or any explaination of why was running late. P.S. Breakfast very dry and loaded with carbs. Not much for fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We were doing a two day 150 mile bike ride that stopped in Galveston overnight at Moody Gardens. We did not want to pay the high prices at Moody Gardens Hotel but wanted a nice clean location close to Moody. This hotel was less than a three minute bike ride from Moody.

The hotel appears to be very new and is very welcoming. The hotel is on the less populated part of the seawall but but is at a good central location for activities in Galveston. There is plenty of underground covered parking at the hotel. They allowed us to check in early and were very pleasant.

On first entering the lobby, there is a very welcome feel. The breakfast area and lobby sitting area are melded together away from the front desk and creates a very warm feeling. There is plenty of room in the breakfast area in the morning.

Our room was a nice King room with microwave and fridge. The room also had a loveseat and table in addition to the nice sized work desk. Closet and bathroom space is acceptable. Very comfortable bed. The climate control system worked well, and the blower can be set to on for white noise. Room has a medium sized Flat Panel HDTV and a large selection of channels. Quiet and dark rooms at night. You could see a bit of the ocean from the balcony.

The breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express hot premade cheese omelets, biscuits, gravy, bacon, as well as cold hard boiled eggs, pastries, toast, muffins, cereals, juice, milk. They had the breakfast out early for those of us riding, and kept the food refreshed for our non riding companions who slept in a bit.

They have business center downstairs with two computers and a printer. High Speed Internet connection was strong around our room. The inside of the hotel clean and nice looking. They had a typical small but clean exercise room with a bike, treadmill, elliptical, and some free weights. The hotel has a nice outdoor pool and hot tub facing the seawall. We will continue to stay here when we participate in this annual event.

There is not much in the line of restaurants near the location but with a car there are plenty of choices in Galveston.

I think it is the best of their brands here in Galveston.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
275 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: $85 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing