We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Headed to the beach with friends for a quick day-trip. Traffic from Houston was so bad, we decided to try to find a place to stay to make our three hour drive worth it. Booked the hotel directly throught hiexpress.com on my cell phone in the car while riding down I-45. Arrived at the hotel at 4:00pm - which is check-in time. Found out we were checking in on only the third day the hotel was open. (New construction after Hurricane Ike.)

It was beautiful and spacious. We booked a double queen suite. (Two queens and a sleeper sofa.) Cost was $255. For the amount of space and what we paid and the fact we were ON THE SEAWALL, we considered this a great deal. Hotel was beautiful. Room had a fridge, microwave, mini granite counter top, kitchen sink and a few kitchen cabinets. Beds comfy. Flat-screen TV. Decent sized balcony facing the ocean. Bathroom was great. Nice size tub, shower head, fluffy towels, etc.

Breakfast...ehhh...I could see the value (and convenience) if you're feeding your kids. But, it wasn't anything to write home about. Edible, but I wouldn't say "good." Just fill an empty spot...or do what I did, after spending fifteen minutes pushing the 'hot food' around my plate, I opted for a yogurt and cup of coffee and had an early lunch that day.

One other thing worth noting: the beach is NOT rebuilt on the seawall where this hotel is. It's only about three minute drive east to the San Luis area where the beach IS rebuilt and beautiful. Or, we drove about ten minutes west to the less traversed beaches that are tucked behind the residences on Pirates' Beach, Jamaica Beach, etc.

We would definitely return to this hotel - it was beautiful and a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texasgirl521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 345 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: L'idéal est de choisir une suite en façade sud avec vue mer complète.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seigne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled on business
Thank Ipp0crate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hogere verdieping voor mooi oceaanzicht !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Belagonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank MelMeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndreWhoRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
275 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: $85 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing